A Kitty Chronology

July 13, 2015

I’m often asked about the chronology of the Kitty series — where all the short stories fit in relation to the novels.  I’ve had a page up on my website about it, but it’s kind of buried.  So here it is, a little more up front and including a couple of more recently published stories.  All the Kitty shorts and novels, in chronological order:

“The Book of Daniel”

“A Princess of Spain”

“Conquistador de la Noche”

“The Beaux Wilde”

“Unternehmen Werwolf”

“The Temptation of Robin Green”

“Looking After Family”

“Wild Ride”

“God’s Creatures”

“Winnowing the Herd”

Kitty and The Midnight Hour

“Kitty and the Mosh Pit of the Damned”

“Kitty’s Zombie New Year”

Kitty Goes to Washington

“Life is the Teacher”

“Il Est Ne”

Kitty Takes a Holiday

Kitty and the Silver Bullet

“Kitty Learns the Ropes”

“You’re on the Air”

“The Arcane Art of Misdirection”

Kitty and the Dead Man’s Hand

Kitty Raises Hell

“Long Time Waiting”

“Defining Shadows”

“It’s Still the Same Old Story”  (Although the flashbacks take place after “Unternehmen Werwolf” and before “The Temptation of Robin Green.”)

“Sealskin”

“Paranormal Bromance”

Kitty’s House of Horrors

Kitty Goes to War

Kitty’s Big Trouble

Kitty Steals the Show

Kitty Rocks the House

Kitty in the Underworld

Low Midnight

Kitty Saves the World

Did I miss anything?  Say, I think it might be time to see if I can put together a second collection…

9 Responses to “A Kitty Chronology”

  1. Betty Says:

    will there ever be a Kitty anthology, with all the stories in order? If so, this is my reservation for a copy….😀

  2. WanabePBWriter Says:

    In a single volume, gold leaf onionskin edition?

  3. blogtest876 Says:

    Just to point out the obvious missing entry, you are missing “Paranormal Bromance”.

  4. carriev Says:

    See? This is why I post things! Thanks!

  5. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Yes please, I would love another collection of short stories. I’ve read most of these, if not all, and would definitely be interested in reading any of the ones I have missed.

    Looking forward to the release party at Tattered Cover! I hope it is in the evening when I can actually go. I am also thinking about trying to make it to Bubonicon this year, but I don’t know that it is that realistic with August being one of my busiest months. One of these years I’ll make it to that one! Definitely can go check out Mile High Con in October though. Maybe I’ll see you there too!

  6. emmaglitch Says:

    Isn’t there a short story with Dr Kitty in the title?

  7. LupLun Says:

    If memory serves, “Dr. Kitty Solves All Your Love Problems” was actually an excerpt from Kitty and the Midnight Hour. It was published in a magazine a few years before the book itself came out. Young authors do that sometimes to prove that they’re more than just another random joe or jane with a word processor and a dream. Writing is a lot harder than people think, and the fact that some other editor- someone who doesn’t know you personally- has liked your work enough to publish it goes a long way to convincing potential agents/editors that you’re a good investment of their time.

  8. Thomas Stacey Says:

    That is correct placement of “Dr. Kitty Solves All Your Love Problems” LupLun. I either saw it/read it before I found Kitty Goes to Washington or shortly after, I don’t remember. It was one of the things that increased my interest of the series and one of the reasons I went back and found Kitty in the Midnight Hour after I read the second book.

  9. carriev Says:

    Yup, “Dr. Kitty Solves All Your Love Problems” and “Kitty Loses Her Faith” were both incorporated into Kitty and The Midnight Hour, so I’ve left them out of all the short stories lists/collections. “Dr. Kitty” is up on my website as a preview, though.


Leave a Reply

