slowly hacking away at that to do list

June 22, 2015

Guys, I’m SO BEHIND on movie watching.  I want to see Jurassic World but I’m not going to get to it in a timely manner.  I’ll confess, the only reason I want to see it is for Chris Pratt and his posse of trained velociraptors.  But you know what?  That’s enough.

This past weekend was my first weekend at home in a month, and I’m having trouble fitting everything in.  I still haven’t seen Avengers: Age of Ultron a second time, and I really want to.  But I did finally see Mad Max: Fury Road again — mostly because I’ve been asked to write a formal review of it, so it was actually work.  Haha, right.  Things I noticed this time:

  • All the names.  After the first viewing, I had to look up the names on IMDB because I didn’t catch any of them, but they really do all get used in the movie.  I’m visual, and often need to see things written down before I “get” them.  This is why I don’t do audio books.
  • You know the blue swamp land with the stilt people, and they’re listening to the creepy crows cawing over and over again, louder and louder?  Those aren’t the birds making those sounds.
  • Who is the main character of the movie, Max or Furiosa?  Well.  Whenever a gun goes off close to Max’s ear, there’s a high-pitched whine in the soundtrack.  Whenever there’s an explosion near Max, the soundtrack goes muffled for a couple of seconds.  The story may be about Furiosa, but Max is absolutely the viewpoint character.  It’s quite a literary detail and I love it.

Being home meant I could finally finish binge watching Daredevil.  Great, great stuff.  It gets even better in later episodes.  Ep. 8, Fisk’s backstory?  One of the best hours of dramatic TV I’ve seen in a long time.  And I want to do a bit of a rant comparing this to Game of Thrones, because Daredevil has as many shocking deaths and as much violence as Game of Thrones — but why is Daredevil more effective than this last season of GoT?  Well, Daredevil doesn’t include any sexual violence.  It also gives its characters time to mourn and reflect.  The deaths aren’t there just to shock the audience — the characters react to them as well.  We can mourn with them.  I have more thoughts, but that’s just off the top of my head.

And one last observation:  So I watched the trailer for the new Fantastic Four again, where they get their powers through interdimensional travel rather than space travel, and I couldn’t help but think that that’s EXACTLY LIKE “The Four” in Planetary.  Which means I don’t think I’m going to be able to watch this movie without laughing.  So yeah, gonna pass I think.

But I’ll probably end up seeing Batman v. Superman for the academic exercise, even though my expectations are very, very low.

At least we still have Ant Man to look forward to.

 

One Response to “slowly hacking away at that to do list”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Welcome home…just a side comment on reading. I finished Cryoburn last night at bedtime, I have not been right all day. Kicked in the teeth indeed. Now I have to carry this until my friend reads it.


Leave a Reply

