home

June 10, 2015

I’m just back from almost three weeks of adventures, and I had an excellent time, but it’s really nice to be home and back to a normal schedule, walking the dog and eating my favorite cereal and so on.  I have a pile of work I need to get to.  Don’t I always?

Here’s one of the pictures from Florida, where I went last week, to do some diving out of Key Largo.  Can YOU find the iguana?

IMG_6009

And a review:

Game of Thrones:  I gave it a couple more chances but I’m done now.  This past episode, I turned it off in the middle when I realized what was going to happen.  I thought, “Surely they won’t go through with it.”  Then I thought, but this is Game of Thrones.  I just knew I didn’t need to see that.

I also realized something about the show:  for all the tragedy and mayhem, I don’t think I’ve ever cried.  There have been so many sad deaths — and maybe that’s why I haven’t cried.  Sad death is the normal baseline for the show.  What’s more, the show is about shocking the audience. And each shock has to be bigger than the last.  The thing is — shock value is not the same emotional engagement.  Shock value will not make me cry, and will not make me care.

At this point, I might as well be watching demolition derby.

2 Responses to “home”

  1. Al H. Says:

    “Can YOU find the iguana?”

    It’s right in the center of the picture on the branch. It almost looks like it’s keeping an eye on you to see if you do anything else.


  2. I was just about to ask where the iguana was before I noticed the tail, and followed it up to the body and head.

    Honestly, I’m surprised there are still (non-native) iguanas in Florida. I went to school in Boca Raton where, after several cold snaps, most of the non-native reptiles in the region died off, including the iguanas. But I’m guessing (without the benefit of a map in front of me) Key Largo is further south than Boca, so perhaps the iguanas did better there.

    Totally with you on shock value vs. emotional engagement. See also: Joss Whedon, who balances precariously between the two with every character death he pulls.


Leave a Reply

