happy Friday?

May 8, 2015

I am having One Of Those Weeks.  Reverse 911 calls, bank freezing the credit card, broken printer, a week of rain, not going to ride TinyHorse because I cannot face the rain, predictions of snow for the weekend, some really annoying paperwork.  The couple of unexpected checks I got (the “Hey, this’ll buy a bag of groceries!” kind of checks for short stories written years ago) couldn’t even cheer me up.

But mostly I think it’s because I’m working on this screenplay and it’s kicking my ass.  I have a self-imposed deadline on this one and I really want to get it finished, because I think it’s going to be pretty good.  My problem:  I write short.  I know I write short.  I zoom through plots.  Not a single one of my published novels is longer than 100,000 words.  I’ve never had to cut a novel down to size.  Now, on a novel, short or long doesn’t really matter as long as it’s in the ballpark.  Someone picking up a 70,000 word novel or an 85,000 word novel is not going to be able to tell the difference.  There’s a lot of wiggle room.

A feature length film screenplay has to be at least 90 pages.  You calculate about a minute of film time per page.  This is strict industry standard.  But I write short, and I’m coming up short.

So, what to do?  Well, a B plot would help.  Looking at every single scene and seeing what opportunities for character development I might be missing.  Adding to the story without padding it out, making it drag.

This is really brain-cramping work.  But I can tell the thing’s going to be better for it — a more developed story, richer characters, etc.  I know intellectually this is really good for me as a writer — this is actually something I’ve been trying to do on the last couple of books, to go through every scene and look for missed opportunities, look to flesh it all out more than I have.

But holy crap I’m tired and cranky about it.

(I’m not going to talk about what the screenplay’s about until it’s finished, and until I feel like I won’t jinx it by talking about it. I don’t know when that’ll be.  I’m sorry.)

 

2 Responses to “happy Friday?”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Are we talking OSP by Carrie V, adaptation or a story within an existing world? I would think this could also be great therapy for your own well documented movie viewer’s angst.


  2. […] work. But I’m having an odd echo-experience of what Carrie Vaughn blogged about on Friday: Writing short. Comparing myself to a New York Times bestseller is obviously the height of hubris. Or hope. But as […]


Leave a Reply

