Happy May Day!

May 1, 2015

My iris are blooming like gangbusters, which is great because my tulips didn’t do anything this year.  Bummer.  But the iris are great.  I tried to take a selfie of me sprawling amidst my sea of iris, but I mostly got a nice clear shot up my nose.  Not very good at this selfie thing so much.

I watched Iron Man 3 in preparation for seeing the new Avengers tonight.  I think it was the right choice, especially during the “House Party” scene when all the suits fill the skies over the oil rig.  Yeah, that looks like foreshadowing.  Also, I had forgotten the Joan Rivers cameo bit at the beginning, and that made me sad.

Work wise, after something like three weeks of feeling like I’ve been spinning my wheels, I’m back on track.  At least for now.  I’ve been working on this screenplay since December — I finished what I thought was a first draft, but it was only 50 pages long, which is not long enough for a feature-length film.  More like a TV episode.  The story needed a B plot, and my brain turned to mush and I couldn’t figure out how to do it.

I figured out how to do it this week.  And I’m really, really excited.

I need to write a big post about branching out, learning to write in different formats, and trying to figure out an entire new field from square one, which I haven’t had to do since I was figuring out the whole novel thing twenty years ago.  My brain is getting a workout.

But right now I need to write that B plot.

 

One Response to “Happy May Day!”

  1. Doruk Says:

    I thought you were talking about the eye iris for a second o.O


Leave a Reply

