this week’s state of the desk

April 8, 2015

It’s a very interesting time in my brain right at the moment.  Those two novella-things I finished revising last week?  Turns out finishing them cleared up a big chunk of real estate in my brain.  Those two projects have been living in my brain for years, and now that they’re done, I can clean under the creative sofas, so to speak, vacuum up the dust that accumulated around them, and see what the place looks like.

A bunch of new projects flooded into the space, which I’m excited about, because these are also ideas I’ve been thinking about for a real long time but haven’t been able to do anything about while those other things were parked in the prime real estate. (People keep asking if I’m sad about wrapping up the Kitty books — and I’m actually not, for this very reason.  I’m satisfied, and I’m looking forward to see what shows up when I’m not thinking about new Kitty books.)

Like, I started outlining one book, but then ended up outlining a whole other book — one that I’ve been thinking about but didn’t know when I was going to get to.  I also carefully opened the gates on a brand-new novel idea, one I hadn’t really thought about until the last couple of weeks but I finally got something of a eureka-moment about how to handle it that makes it much more viable.  (See how this works?  No room for eureka-moments until this week!  It’s so fun!)

This also means it’s time to run inventory on what I’m working on and prioritize projects.  And reading lists:  research for two different novels is going to mean reading about, variously, the Donner Party, the Miwok tribes of California, giant squids, and the War of 1812.  (I will leave it as an exercise for the reader to decide which of those research topic goes together.)  I’m also going to need to reread Ursula K. LeGuin’s The Dispossessed, because I want to study the structure to help me out writing that brand-new novel idea.

I also figured out a short story I’ve been stuck on.

So yeah.  This part is kind of fun.  But if you talk to me in two weeks, I’ll probably be going crazy because I can’t seen to settle on one thing to work on.  Heh.

 

2 Responses to “this week’s state of the desk”

  1. amkuska Says:

    You’ve inspired me to work on my own WIPs. I want more brain space!


  2. […] alone, and get it out the door. Carrie Vaughn used an interesting phrase in her blog post, “This Week’s State of the Desk,” wherein she […]


Leave a Reply

