things I watched this weekend

March 23, 2015

I FINALLY got to see Urinetown, the satirical dystopian musical, which I’ve known about since it came out 15 years ago because you can’t be into musical theater and not know about a musical called Urinetown.  I had no idea what to expect, but it turns out it was great, because it knows exactly how silly it is and goes full meta, and it turns out that’s a great way to do a quick, punchy, funny musical.

I also had no idea what to expect because this was the first production I’d seen by the local theater group, the Longmont Theater Company.  I was braced for iffy, but they started singing, they were great, and I relaxed.  The show had that homemade look to it but everyone knew what they were doing and they did an excellent job.  I enjoyed it.  (Having done community theater in high school, I know exactly how iffy it can get, like when your Nellie and Emile in South Pacific have zero chemistry, and in fact your Nellie and Joe start dating before the end of the show…  ANYHOO.)

I’m caught up on this final season of Justified, and for the most part I think it’s great, particularly the villains’ tangled plots and Raylen trying to figure out what he wants to be when he grows up.

But I gotta tell you, I think they’re completely screwing up Ava again.  After the last two seasons, you cannot convince me that she’s that much of a wet dishrag idiot.  That she would really put up with the shit Boyd’s pulling on her.  All I can think is that she must have some big epic plan up her sleeve to screw everyone over by the end.  But if so, the show is keeping it really well hidden. And it’s not satisfying.

Also, I propose that you know Sam Elliott’s a bad guy in this because he doesn’t have his mustache.  Sam Elliott without a mustache is JUST WRONG.

 

4 Responses to “things I watched this weekend”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Ava does in one way or another know everything about all the major player for the vault money. She could play all parts against the middle, series ends, Raylen with his family Boyd dead or in prison for life, Ava sitting on a beach earning twenty percent. What do you think?

  2. carriev Says:

    That’s what I’m really hoping for, so I keep looking for some sign that she’s smart or that she has her own line on things — and I haven’t seen sign of it. She’s just kind of flopping around the plot whining. Justified usually shows us all sides of the various plots ahead of time, but they haven’t showed Ava doing much of anything but being walked on.


  3. I’ve heard that Sam Elliott wanted to shave his mustache off for his role in Ang Lee’s Hulk, since someone active in the military wouldn’t normally have one. Lee had to talk him into keeping it, because A) General Ross has a mustache in the comics, and (presumably) B) IT’S SAM FREAKIN’ ELLIOTT.

    And sure enough, Elliott’s version of Ross kept his mustache, and wasn’t all that bad a guy. Coincidence? I think not. 😛

  4. jamtur01 Says:

    Shooting Boyd and nicking off with the $10M made my night.🙂


Leave a Reply

