short story avalanche!

March 6, 2015

I just realized:  I have three new short stories coming out this month!  This amuses me because once again these are stories written over the course of the last year and a half or so, for different publications, and they all happen to be coming out within a week or so of each other.  These things really do come in avalanches!

Now Available:  Operation Arcana, tales of military fantasy edited by John Joseph Adams.  This has my story “Sealskin,” about a half-selkie Navy SEAL, not even kidding.  Astute readers have been asking if this is a sequel to another story I have about a selkie, “The Temptation of Robin Green.”  And the answer is yes, it is a sequel.  I hope you enjoy it.  And here’s yet another world I could definitely write more about.

Next up, March 10:  The Doll Collection, a horror anthology edited by Ellen Datlow.  My story here is called “Goodness and Kindness,” and it’s about Kewpie dolls.  A peek behind the curtains:  this is the first story I’ve sold to Ellen after 20 years of trying. I’m pretty sure I sent a story or two to her when she was still editing fiction at Omni.  So, this is something of a milestone.  And I pretty much got in because I know way too much about Kewpie dolls — my grandmother is an avid collector.

And third, March 17:  My story “Sun, Stone, Spear” will appear at Beneath Ceaseless Skies.  This story is a direct result of my trip to Ireland last summer, and I’m very pleased that some of my burgeoning obsessions and research from then resulted in a viable story — and maybe even more viable stories in the future.  Let’s make “neolithic fantasy” a thing, everybody!

 

One Response to “short story avalanche!”

  1. Matthew Says:

    Ooh. Neolithic fantasy! I’ve been hoping for more of that since I read Erin Bow’s “Sorrow’s Knot” last year! (it probably helps that I was an archaeologist for a while)


Leave a Reply

