the deep midwinter

February 27, 2015

I spent a lot of Boskone joking that I was kind of enjoying the massive amounts of snow because Colorado had had a light winter so far.  Well, we’re now on track in my area for having one of our snowiest Februarys on record — we’ve had three major snowfalls in the last week.  And I’m patting myself on the back for successfully bringing snow back from Boston with me.

I’m having a busy kind of distracted ADD sort of week (cleaning, revising, finishing a draft, generally bouncing between too many things at once), so in lieu of a more in-depth blog post (and worrying about whether I should do more manifesto and less geek-tastic type posts? Hm? There’ve been a lot of manifestos out there in SF&F blog land lately.  So maybe not), here’s another piece from my Big Fat Crafting Holiday Season:

IMG_5862

This is a lacey pattern I got off Ravelry. You can find it here.  I’ve probably knitted four or five of these.  It’s relatively simple but deeply satisfying, when that beautiful leafy pattern starts to come through.

A gave this to my grandmother.  It’s her color, and that’s exactly what she said when she opened it, “It’s my color!”  I love it when I can zero in on a perfect gift like that.

Leave a Reply

