state of the desk

February 20, 2015

Random nattering today.  I had a really good day yesterday:  started with a great ride on TinyHorse, I finally got to sit down and write something substantial, I made cashew chicken for dinner, and then I watched Guardians of the Galaxy.  I was worried it wouldn’t be as good as I remember.  Turns out, IT’S BETTER.  Plus, Dancing Baby Groot still leaves me weeping with joy.  I still really appreciate that the movie doesn’t have an opening scroll or voiceover, and this time I really noticed that all the pop music is actually playing in the course of action.  As in, if the song is playing in the soundtrack, it’s because it’s playing on Peter’s tape deck.  I love that.  So many movies and TV shows use pop music in a soundtrack as some kind of emotional shorthand, but in Guardians it’s part of the action.

What I’m working on:  I finished up two short stories this month, which was nice.  Next, revisions on the YA space opera, and a secret project.  I’m hoping to finish up both of those in March.  Then. . .well, gosh, I’m not sure!

We’re supposed to get a big snowstorm this weekend.  We’ll see if it actually happens.  If it does, I may stay home and binge watch the Robotech DVD’s I got for my birthday.

Happy Friday!

 

3 Responses to “state of the desk”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Binge watching Robotech sounds like a great way to wait out a snow storm.

  2. wynwords Says:

    Loved Guardians…. my so and I use the We Are Groot all the time 😆

  3. David Bowles Says:

    After watching the actual original Macross, I can’t sit through Robotech😦


Leave a Reply

