sparklies

February 18, 2015

Quick Wednesday post.  I had a great time at Boskone but it’s taking me a little while to recover.  Even though I think I may be the only person at the convention whose flight wasn’t cancelled.  May I always be so lucky.

So here’s more stuff that I’ve made/acquired, this time in the category of OOOH SPARKLIES.  It’s my weakness.

At some point I acquired some pearls. (This is another thing that happens in the SCA. You get gifted with the most marvelous things like fabric and jewelry and odds and ends.)  I had them for years, waiting for inspiration, which finally struck:  I had a Renaissance gown with no jewelry to go with it.  Eeek!  So I made a necklace:

IMG_5890

And another one:

IMG_5942

 

I love them!  I’m glad I waited to use the pearls because these turned out so nice, and I have a feeling they’ll be versatile and I’ll get to wear them with lots of different outfits.

This one, I didn’t make, but acquired at the Boskone art show.  It’s by Priscilla Olson, and I grabbed it up because I think it’ll go with both my period outfits and my steampunk wardrobe.

IMG_5939

 

SPARKLIES!  It’s a bit of an addiction, but it’s one I indulge in because I like to support the artists who make these pretties, and it’s wearable, which speaks to my practical side.

 

One Response to “sparklies”


  1. “Pearls are always appropriate” – Jackie O.


Leave a Reply

