more Georgette Heyer

February 13, 2015

So yes, I have discovered Georgette Heyer and I’m working my way through the historicals.  If I’m going to be writing historical romance, I want them to look like this.  So far, I think every book of hers I’ve read has had a scene that I have to pull out and hang on the wall.  This is one from The Grand Sophy:

 He said stiffly:  “Since you have brought up Miss Wraxton’s name, I shall be much obliged to you, cousin, if you will refrain from telling my sisters that she has a face like a horse!”

“But Charles, no blame attaches to Miss Wraxton!  She cannot help it, and that, I assure you, I have always pointed out to your sisters.”

“I consider Miss Wraxton’s countenance particularly well-bred!”

“Yes, indeed, but you have quite misunderstood the matter!  I meant a particularly well-bred horse!”

“You meant, as I am perfectly aware, to belittle Miss Wraxton!”

“No, no!  I am very fond of horses!” Sophy said earnestly.

Oh my goodness.  Isn’t it gorgeous?

 

4 Responses to “more Georgette Heyer”

  1. emmaglitch Says:

    OMG Georgette Heyer was the salvation of the Air Force wife when I got busted down from WAF to officer’s wife. Another wife led me to the Yokota base library, straight to the rows of Heyers, where I chose April Lady, and kept coming back for more. I recently loved April Lady all over again from audible.com. Good memories!

  2. Susan Says:

    I’m currently getting them for my Kindle! I love the next line in that scene too, where Charles goes on to something like: ‘But my sister, who made the comment, is not particularly fond of horses, and’ – then stops himself, realising how ridiculous the conversation is getting. (That was from memory: the Grand Sophy is one of my Heyer faves…)

  3. Sharon Says:

    My Heyer paperbacks are worn to shreds. How lovely that she is still being reprinted!

  4. howardbrazee Says:

    Her first book was written by a 19 year old to her younger brother. _The Black Moth_ was more of a melodrama than a romance. Then she reincarnated the characters from that book with name changes – and the antagonist becomes the protagonist in _These Old Shades_.

    I’m not sold on her mysteries. Her strength isn’t in keeping us from knowing what’s going to happen.


Leave a Reply

