The Accidental Tuckerization of Douglas Bennett

February 9, 2015

There’s this thing that happens in the SCA where you can know someone for years, be excellent friends, and still not know their “real” name. Their mundane name.  You might pass them in the supermarket and not recognize them at all because they’re wearing jeans and a t-shirt instead of an embroidered tunic and coronet.  Because to you, they’re simply always in garb, and you’ve always called them by their SCA name.  Years ago, this phenomenon led to the following conversation with the excellent Baron Douglas:

Douglas:  “I just read the latest book.  Do you know what you did?”

Me:  “Oh thanks!  I mean, what, uh….no?”

Douglas:  “Did you mean to gruesomely kill me off?”

Me:  “What?  No!  What are you talking about!”

Douglas:  “Do you know what my mundane last name is?”

Me:  “……”

Douglas:  “Bennett.”

(I needed a moment here to think and put everything together.  Bennett.  Douglas Bennett.  Cormac’s father Douglas Bennett who had his face ripped off by a werewolf when Cormac was 16.  Eeep.)

Me:  “What?  No!  I didn’t!  I mean I didn’t know….I mean, no!  That’s not you!  That wasn’t–!  Erp.”

Douglas:  “That’s what I thought.”

And then he chuckled with great amusement at my consternation at accidentally naming such an ill-fated character after him, because of course he had entirely orchestrated that consternation.

Baron Douglas, Douglas Bennett, passed away suddenly this weekend.

He had a great baritone chuckle.  A wizardly chuckle.  Gandalfian, even.  In fact, I believe he’s the closest thing to a Middle Earth wizard I’ve ever met.  There are songs about this man still sung around SCA campfires.  And I’m feeling like Frodo standing at the edge of the chasm, staring into the dark in utter disbelief.

Peace to you, Douglas.

 

5 Responses to “The Accidental Tuckerization of Douglas Bennett”

  1. Shoshanah Says:

    Very nice, and so very Douglas.

  2. Todd Says:

    The first part made me laugh, the last part made me sad. I’m glad that you have such good memories to cherish. Here’s one of my favorite poems, I hope it brings you solace.

    All is well
    by Henry Scott Holland

    Death is nothing at all.
    I have only slipped away into the next room.
    I am I, and you are you.
    Whatever we were to each other, that we still are.
    Call me by my old familiar name,
    speak to me in the easy way which you always used.
    Put no difference in your tone,
    wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow.
    Laugh as we always laughed at the little jokes we enjoyed together.
    Pray, smile, think of me, pray for me.
    Let my name be ever the household word that it always was,
    let it be spoken without effect,
    without the trace of a shadow on it.
    Life means all that it ever meant.
    It is the same as it ever was;
    there is unbroken continuity.
    Why should I be out of mind because I am out of sight?
    I am waiting for you,
    for an interval,
    somewhere very near,
    just round the corner.
    All is well.


  3. A beautiful remembrance. Also, my condolences.

  4. Jeanne-Marie Says:

    His was an epic chuckle.❤

  5. Bob Says:

    thanks todd- @ a recent job interview, I was asked where I saw myself in 5 years. Truthfully? I see myself attending a lot of funerals. I’m @ the point where Life starts to take back…Mr Holland’s words are inspirational. And no, I didn’t get the job…


Leave a Reply

