Kitty Saves the World & an announcement

January 12, 2015

kitty saves the world MM

 

This is the next Kitty book!  It’s also the last one in the series.

I’ve mentioned it here and there, usually only at signings when the topic comes up.  A few times I’ve said flat out:  When you see Kitty Saves the World, you’ll know it’s the last book.  I’ve been planning this for a long time.  And now it’s here, and it feels like the right decision.  It’s been exciting and satisfying to work on this.  Like graduating.  It’s time.

One of the things that’s happened over the course of writing the series is I would always have too many ideas for each book, and the extra ideas would go into one of the next books.  Right now?  I don’t have an idea for what comes next.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I’ve got lots and lots of ideas:  I want to write about Rick as a Vatican-sponsored warrior against evil, I want to write about him in the Old West, I have at least a couple more novels about Cormac I want to write, and I want to write stories tying the world of “The Beaux Wilde” into the history of the series, and then there’s the witches in Manitou Springs to write about…

But Kitty’s story?  The arc I’ve been working on for the last ten years?  It has an end.  I think it’s a really slam-bang ending that you’ll all love.  At least I hope you will.

I feel incredibly, massively lucky I’ve been able to write this series and Kitty’s story the way I wanted, and that I’m wrapping it up exactly when I want to.  A lot of authors don’t get that chance, especially with a long series like this and the unpredictability of publishing.  Finishing the series is my decision, and I really needed to do it while I still had a chance to do so on my own terms.  And thank you to my readers who’ve come all this way with me.  You made it happen, so thanks.

I won’t say there’ll never be another novel about Kitty — never say never and all that.  I actually have another story to tell about her, but it’s something like 20 years after the events of this book and it really needs time to cook before I even dig into it, if it even goes anywhere.  But for now, it’s time for a break.  At least from the series.  Don’t worry, I have plenty of other stories and books to write.  I’m getting started on them RIGHT NOW!

Kitty Saves the World is due out August 4, 2015.  I really hope it knocks your socks off.  Thanks for reading.

NOTE:  I’m on the road right now — I’ll be at the Jean Cocteau Cinema in Santa Fe tonight. Stop by if you can!  But what that means is I may not be around to answer questions right away.  I’ll get to them when I get home in a day or two.  THANK YOU!

 

 

24 Responses to “Kitty Saves the World & an announcement”


  1. While I can’t say I’ll be happy to see the series end, I’m glad you’re getting to do it the way you want.

    And, over the years I’ve gone from being a Kitty-fan to being a Carrie-fan, so I look forward to all the other stories yet to come.

    You rock!

  2. Russell Martens Says:

    I am happy to see it end. Don’t get me wrong, my wife and I love the Kitty books, but I’ve seen stories like this get dragged on past where they should have ended far too many times. So while I am happy to see Kitty’s story end I am also very happy not to see Kitty’s world’s story end. There simply comes a point where she can’t be the hub around which ALL the events center. I very much liked how she appeared in Low Midnight. It made sense for her to be involved when she was. Future Cormac novels certainly can’t avoid her completely. Even future Rick novels would have the potential to involve her and should if appropriate.

    Honestly, Rick is the big dangling plot thread at this point. Unless you have much bigger plans for him in the final Kitty book than I suspect you do, he’s the one who’s tale feels unfinished. He might appear in the next book, but I don’t think you could really give his story the time it needs to be considered done and still do justice to the final battle with Roman in a novel anywhere close to your normal length.

    So goodbye Kitty and welcome Kitty’s larger world!

  3. Toni Says:

    Congratulations, But I’ll keep my fingers crossed for Rick and Cormac/Amelia serieses. series’? More books about them…

  4. Doruk Says:

    Happy to have been around since the beginning!

  5. Brandon Says:

    I had a bad feeling when I saw that title inside Low Midnight as the next book, and it lions like I was right.

    I’m sad to see the series go, as it’s always been one of my favorites since I picked up Kitty and the Midnight Hour, but I’m happy that it’s ending because you reached the end of the story, and not because of any outside forces.

    Low Midnight was fantastic, and I trust Kitty Saves the World will take the series out on an all time high note. Can’t wait to see how it all ties together and what comes next

  6. Anna Stanford Says:

    I think it feels right. I hate good series that drag on and deteriorate as each book tries to top the previous one. End with a bang and fireworks and it’ll be glorious! But give us more Cormac books please!

  7. Kendall Lovely Says:

    This is exciting! …But I’ll also be sorry to see the series end (of course, it had to end eventually, and then I was thinking this would be around as many books as the series got to)…


  8. This feels right. Plus I want to know what Rick’s doing at the Vatican.🙂


  9. Pout, nothing good lasts forever, but I still feel like sulking, unless your promising a sequel to Discord’s Apple? I know it doesn’t feel like it needs a sequel but I’d like more of those characters. So it’s a wistful feeling not a need. We still have Cormac and Amelia.


  10. […] author Carrie Vaughn announced the end of her Kitty Norville Series. I’ve actually known about this for a few weeks: over at All Things Urban Fantasy, they […]

  11. Phenix Nash Says:

    Excited about this! Also, my wife would like to thank you for “The Beaux Wilde.” She’s a big Kitty fan. Recently, she’s also been on a Regency romance kick. It was the perfect story for this phase in her fandom. Our tastes don’t always match up, but I thought it was absolutely adorable.

  12. Linda Kuzminczuk Says:

    Although I will miss Kitty, you are right to stop before the series becomes trite and repetitive. On the other hand, I would love more Rick and Cormac.

  13. Carriev Says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone. It means a lot. I know it’s sad, but it also feels a little like sending a kid to college!


  14. I have such mixed emotions about this.

    Bottom line is that I trust you as a writer. I look forward to Kitty saving the world, and then to all the good stuff that comes after!

  15. Griggk the goblin Says:

    I’ve seen way too many series jump their sharks because the author either didn’t know when it was time to say “the end”, or they simply refused to leave that nice comfortable zone. It’s been a fun ride, and I’ve enjoyed the scenery, which is all a reader can ask for.


  16. […] yeah, yeah, there’s a bit of this that’s obsolete now, but — eh, it worked when I wrote […]

  17. Bob Says:

    “What do you do, where do you go, the night after you save the universe?’-Howard the duck

  18. Tim Schmidt Says:

    Sorry to see the series end but like the others I am happy you’re doing on your terms.

    Do you have a new series in the works that you can drop a few hints to?

    Tim

  19. carriev Says:

    I have some stuff I’m working on but no definite titles or releases I can talk about yet, I’m afraid.

  20. bherbert19 Says:

    Reblogged this on Brandon M. Herbert – Author's Den and commented:
    I love this series; I’m partly sad that it’s coming to a close, but I’m excited to read it!

  21. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Just finished Low Midnight and I had a feeling the Kitty series was nearing the end. I’m sad to see it go, but I’m sure you’ll send it off with a bang. Glad to hear that there will likely be more stories set in Kitty’s world. Even if the next Kitty book never happens, I know I will enjoy reading anything else you set in that world and definitely anything else you write as well.

    I loved Low Midnight and really thought it was written well and hope for about Cormac and Amelia. It was quite interesting learning more of Amelia’s history and seeing more of Cormac and Amelia’s relationship. Hope to make it to Broadway Book Mall with at least one more book for you to sign this weekend! Have a safe and fun trip!

  22. juliefore Says:

    I love Rick. I enjoyed his stories in Kitty’s Greatest Hits. Actually, I enjoyed most of the stories in Greatest Hits.


  23. […] Kitty Saves the World & an announcement — Carrie Vaughn announces that she’s wrapping things up in the next book. I figured this was coming, but I thought it’d take a few more books. Wanted a few more books first. It’s time, but going to be sad to see this one go. […]

  24. AJ Says:

    Going to miss this series as I really like it. The best series I have read, but hpefully more books about Cormac, or other people in the universe.


Leave a Reply

