what I did last year: 2014

January 7, 2015

2014 felt weird because I was between book contracts for much of it — I finished the last novel on my existing contract early on, and I didn’t have another contract lined up until December.  This made me flounder around a bit — what do I work on next? What am I going to be working on next year?  This is not my beautiful house, this is not my beautiful wife!

Ahem.

It turns out, I worked on whatever the hell came to mind and the results have been… interesting.  That is, I had a lot of stuff coming out this year, even as I felt kind of directionless.  This is good. This is validating, because it shows me that as long as I’m working on something, things will happen.  And there’s a bunch of stuff on the schedule that you’ll start seeing trickle out in the early days of 2015.  I’m excited.

So, for my own records, for those who might be interested, here’s my writing that came out in 2014:

 

Novels

Dreams of the Golden Age (Tor Books, January 2014)

Low Midnight (Tor Books, December 2014)

 

Novella

Paranormal Bromance, December

 

Novelette

“Roaring Twenties,” Rogues, ed. George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, June

“Harry and Marlowe and the Haunted Locomotive of the Rockies,” Lightspeed, July

“Nuestra Senora de la Esperanza,” Tor.com, October

“Once More, For Old Time’s Sake,” Wild Cards: Lowball, November

“G.I. Joe: Luck be a Lady,” Kindle Worlds, July (Shut up, this does too count.)

 

Short Stories

“Salvage,” Lightspeed, June

“Harry and Marlowe and the Intrigues at the Aetherian Exhibition,” Lightspeed, February

“The Beaux Wilde,” Urban Fantasy Magazine, December

“Dancing with the Mouse King,” Fantasy for Good, December

“The Art of Fly Fishing in Low Gravity,” FenCon Program Book, September (I need to get this online where everyone can see it.)

 

So, ten short pieces, two novels, and a novella.  Yeah, I was kind of busy.  And things aren’t slowing down.  The next novel will be out in August (I’ll make an announcement about that next week, I think) and I’ve got a contract for my YA space opera that I’ve been talking about for ages.  A new Wild Cards story by me will be out soon, as part of the Aces Abroad release, and three or four more stories are due for release early on, including a new Harry and Marlowe story.  So yeah, I don’t think I have to worry that I’m not using my time well…

 

 

 

One Response to “what I did last year: 2014”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    I just read The Beaux Wilde, I enjoyed it very much. I think I detect strong but subtle notes from the Bell Jar.


Leave a Reply

