things I do in my spare time

December 17, 2014

On my trip to the UK in August, I finally visited Barley Hall in York.  This is a  recreation of a 14th century merchant’s house, with lots of exhibits and information and hands-on activities. Fascinating and informative.

While there I saw this pitcher:

IMG_5490

Which I thought was a lovely thing, not fancy like what you normally see in museums, just a good example of what a well off but not noble family might have in their home.  I decided I wanted something like it.

So I went to our local paint-your-own pottery place and made this:

IMG_5889

It’s a mug, because I’ll use a mug more than I’ll use a pitcher. I’m quite pleased with how it turned out, and I’ll be the envy of all the other late-period English personae at SCA events.

 

3 Responses to “things I do in my spare time”

  1. jennavier Says:

    That was a really smart idea.

  2. Constance Swanson Says:

    I am envious, even though I seem to have abandoned a late period Tudor persona for earlier, non-corseted centuries. I usually get new feast gear by shopping Pennsic merchants. I have taken lots of pictures on vacation, but the only one that turned into a completed project was one of those fancy Spanish hats that look like lopsided wedding cakes, the ones you see in the Cantigas De Santa Maria. I found a tomb effigy with one of the hats and could take photos of the top and sides.
    Funny how so many of my favorite SF/fantasy authors are Scadian. Enough of that.
    I have been a fan of Kitty since … the Midnight Hour, have devoured each new title as it came out, and have preordered the next one. I hope they have been as much fun to write as they are to read.

  3. carriev Says:

    They have been, Constance! Thank you for reading.

    I have more project ideas than I will ever get to, both writing and SCA…


Leave a Reply

