shopping

December 10, 2014

I’m a fan of shopping locally, from independent businesses, whenever I can. I’m doing a pretty good job for my holiday shopping this year, I think.

A couple of local artists/businesses that I like: Ildanach Studios makes jewelry from recycled copper, really unique stuff. They also have SCA medallions and period pieces. Dryad Tea makes some really great tea blends.

Most of the yarn for my knitting projects came from a local yarn shop. I got a bunch of gifts at the Georgetown Christmas Market last weekend. I’ve ordered some books to be picked up at the Tattered Cover Bookstore.  By the way, the Broadway Book Mall may still have some signed copies of my books, and they ship. I even stopped off at our local “paint your own pottery” place last weekend to get all crafty and stuff.

MORE BOOKS! A charity anthology that I’m in, Fantasy for Good, just came out. My story, “Dancing with the Mouse King,” happens to be a holiday story. Good timing there! Can you guess what the story’s about?

Oh, and here’s one more thing. Before I went to Worldcon in London in August, a fan of the Kitty books asked if she could make a T-shirt. Turns out, another fan had already done a logo. The T-shirt was a hit, and everyone who saw it, or pictures of it, wanted one.

So with the permission of Trish, who designed the shirt, and Brittany, who designed the KNOB logo, I’ve recreated the shirt and put it up on Zazzle, along with mugs and bumper stickers, because of course a radio station has to have mugs and bumper stickers.

Here is the link to the Carrie and Kitty Zazzle store!

All proceeds from store sales will go to a couple of charities: the Yellowstone Foundation and the International Wolf Center. Both are concerned with education and conservation of wolves and wilderness, which seems appropriate.

(Note: I’ve ordered the first shirt and it should be here any day. I’m kind of crossing my fingers that they turn out okay in person since we had to futz with the design a bit. I’ll let you know when I see it. But I really wanted to get the link up in time for holiday ordering because OMG gifts!)

So yeah. We have Kitty t-shirts now!

female_knob_t_shirt-r2daa0e6c6b104d52b2b181ade7d95d83_8nax8_324

One Response to “shopping”

  1. Katelyn Says:

    This isn’t too “local”, but it’s in the same state! In Durango, there’s an apothecary called Dancing Willow Herbs. It’s really cute and has really good teas, especially for specialized teas. I have the tummy tea that works like a charm! Just thought I’d let you know.

    Kate


Leave a Reply

