lessons, redux

November 14, 2014

I learned a lesson this week.  Or rather, I re-learned a lesson, because I seem to need to re-learn this one every couple of years or so.  After all the traveling I did this fall (I realize in hindsight it was rather a lot more traveling that I thought it was at the time — three weeks in August, a couple of weekends in September, a couple of weekends in October), I had a whole list of things I wanted to get done.  I was charged up, I was ready — and then I spent a couple of weeks feeling just awful because I wasn’t getting anything done.

It turns out the things on my list weren’t really “things,” but seeds.  They were things that I could start, but they needed to grow before I could call them finished and cross them off the list.  After a couple of weeks of growing, some are germinating, and I finally feel like various projects are moving forward.  I keep having to re-learn that I need to be patient, that it’s not always about crossing things off the list, it’s about nurturing and planning looking forward.  This gig is a marathon and not a sprint.  As long as I’m taking baby steps, I’ll get there, even if some days I don’t feel like I’m making much progress.  Next month, I need to start planting the seeds that will sprout next year.

So.  LOW MIDNIGHT is out in about six weeks.  I’ve got some things up my sleeve, some surprises and I hope some cool stuff to really rev up for this one.  If this book does well out of the gate, the chances increase that I will get to write more novels starring Cormac and Amelia, which is something I’d very much like to do.  Stay tuned!

In another news, something else that is helping me Get Stuff Done: I got a full spectrum desk lamp for treating Seasonal Affective Disorder.  Oh my gosh, this thing wakes me up in the morning.  It’s great.  Apparently, I am solar powered.

3 Responses to “lessons, redux”

  1. Sonya M. Shannon Says:

    I too, am solar powered! Whenever I am in a funk, I sit out in the sun… it really helps. But I live in Texas where we get a lot more sun than most of the rest of the USA. What lamp did you purchase?

  2. carriev Says:

    I got the Verilux “HappyLight,” which sounds ridiculous, but it was more economical than the big stand up heavy duty models. And really, it does great. I have it on my desk for a couple of hours in the morning, and it seems to jump start me, especially on overcast days.


  3. You might also want to get a GoLite for when you travel. I’ve found mine invaluable; even in locations such as Florida, where I didn’t expect to need it, since the days’ lengths there are less affected by the seasons than they are in my home in New Jersey.


Leave a Reply

