belated Halloween report

November 7, 2014

One of my jobs as Bohemian aunt is to design and make Halloween costumes for niece Emmy.  This year’s challenge:  a toddler-appropriate Wonder Woman outfit.  Voila:

Emmy wonder woman 2

Isn’t she a hoot?  She chose the pink cowboy boots herself, and I think they’re perfect.

So when I talked on the phone with Emmy about her costume (she was very excited about getting a costume), she asked me what I was going to be for Halloween.  I told her I had a ballgown I would be wearing to a masquerade.  She demanded pictures.  This is what I sent her:

IMG_5858 - Copy

I love this one because I didn’t have to make a single new thing.  I pulled everything out of my closet: my Elizabethan corset that I made forever ago, the cartridge-pleated skirt I got at an SCA rummage sale a while back, a scrap of pink tulle I had in my stash.  I designed the whole thing around the headdress, which I hardly ever get to wear:  it was made by Judith Rauchfuss of Leopards Leap. She makes the most amazing wonderful creations, and I’m so pleased to have a piece of hers that she made just for me.  She has an etsy store and a website.

And I believe a good time was had by all.

 

3 Responses to “belated Halloween report”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    On the subject of aunt projects, I saw a stuffed animal squid at Mile-hi con; did your niece ever make friends with her giant squid?

  2. carriev Says:

    She did! I have a picture of her using it as a giant pillow. Now I have to write a story about a girl and her squid.

  3. A.J. Colby Says:

    That headdress is stunning! And you made that corset? Wow! I like to think I’m fairly skilled in the sewing department, but corsets are still just too tricky for me. I’ve tried I couple different times and have yet to be pleased with the end result.


Leave a Reply

