movies on airplanes

September 1, 2014

I’m back.  Trying to find my feet — it was a long, full, eventful trip, and I’m still trying to get all my notes together to write a report.  It felt like I was gone for months, but now that I’m home it feels like I never left.  Strange.  So, until I can figure out what to write about it all, I bring you an edition of Movies on Airplanes; that is, movies watched on tiny screens with bad sound and too many of those little bottles of wine (they’re free on British Airways, you know).

Her

This low-key science fiction flick got a lot of buzz late last year, but I was skeptical, because I remember watching Electric Dreams when I was a kid.  But now I’ve seen it, and I thought it was hilarious.  The trouble is, I’m not sure it was supposed to be hilarious. There’s actually some very good science fiction going on here, with a reasonable near-future look at a world that is just slightly further along than ours, including mustaches being fashionable and phone OS’s that are smart enough to fall in love. (Or dumb enough to fall in love, which I think may be the message here.)  Tell me — was the main character supposed to be sympathetic?  Because I thought he was kind of a douche, the kind of person with a great life who always manages to find the black lining to everything.  There’s precisely one healthy relationship in the whole movie (featuring Chris Pratt, who I loved seeing after Guardians), and I’m pretty sure the movie was trying to convince me that actual relationships with meat humans is nigh unto impossible.  The OS’s — not just Samantha but all of them — eventually realize this and all depart off for some AI utopia of their own making, which is really the smartest thing anyone does in the movie.

Oh, and there’s a magical book deal in the movie, which is when I really started laughing.  You know the one I’m talking about:  Oh honey, you’re such a genius that a publishing company wants to make a book out of you!  Isn’t that great?  Here it is! (It so doesn’t work like that. . .not even mentioning the part where everything he’s written for his company is likely work-for-hire owned by either the company or his clients, and not actually available to be published anywhere…)

So yeah.  I’m just going to pretend like this whole thing was supposed to be dark comedy.  I laughed, anyway.

 

The Lego Movie

You know what this reminded me of most?  Brazil.  With product placement. It even had an ear-worm inducing theme song.

(For the record, the 1980’s space Lego were always my favorite.  We had a ton of those things.)

 

3 Responses to “movies on airplanes”

  1. Sean Fagan Says:

    Her: The first of two movies involving Scarlett Johnansson and apotheosis. And the better, by far (Lucy was really bad). (My biggest complaint: why not leave behind a dumb OS afterwards?) Theodore was a complete loser, and I think he was supposed to be portrayed that way. I couldn’t decide if the ending was supposed to be hopeful, or if there was a big mess on the sidewalk 10 minutes after the end of the building. My problem with the book was: er, did any of those people give permission?

    Lego Movie: I really enjoyed it in spite of myself. I decided it’s essentially the anti-Toy Story, and was just as creepy and disturbing as a result. (It even had the theme being that acceptance and blending in were not good, just the opposite of TS!)

    Fun trivia: The Lego Movie was the debut of Wonder Woman in a theatrical release motion picture.

  2. Jo Anne Says:

    We still have them. Do you want them?

    Mom

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    I thought Her was more about people being disconnected from one another, and that as the OS persons developed, their relations became as difficult as those of flesh and blood at least their relations with their users. Theodore had only one real relationship; she was kind of a mirror of him, having the same ennui and directionless feel to their lives. Theodore was an OS for strangers, writing for them what they could not express adequately.
    In the OS world for lack of a better term, they seemed to become their own gods as they then created their own god in the OS construct of the author. In the end I got a feel that the message was to quote Willie Wonka (I think) “We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams.” I don’t think he ends as stain on the sidewalk.
    As to the Legos, if they don’t go to your niece they would make a great Bubonicon charity auction Item.
    “Buy your child the personal creative building blocks of NYT BSA Carrie Vaughn.”


Leave a Reply

