other things I have been watching

August 27, 2014

Since I don’t really follow any of the TV shows that are running new episodes now (I’ve tried to watch True Blood but I just get really confused), it really has felt like the summer hiatus seasons of old, when you catch up on old things and watch videos — and also go outside and play instead of watching anything at all, which I’ve done quite a bit of.  Huzzah!

Rewatched:  Galaxy Quest, which holds up surprisingly well.  I’m not sure it needs the sequel everyone’s been talking about, but I’m suddenly curious as to what such a premise would turn into if the source show was, say, Battlestar Galactica.  As a recent meme I encountered says, Harry Potter fans would love to go to Hogwarts, Narnia fans would love to go to Narnia, and Hunger Games fans are all, “No thanks, we’re good.”

Brazil:  Holy crap, this movie is way, way more scary and upsetting than the last time I saw it, maybe 10 years ago.  The bureaucracy parody stuff was always spot on, but this time the terrorism thread really jumped out, and it was really. . accurate.  “And why do you think this terrorist scare has been going on for 13 years?”  “Bad sportsmanship!”  My groups of friends and I sat there gaping at the TV.  We are closer to that world than we ever have been.

Watched:  The Hollow Crown, or at least much of it.  This is a recent BBC miniseries of a set of Shakespeare’s Histories — Richard II, Henry IV Parts 1 and 2 (See, guys, this whole sequel mania thing isn’t new!), and Henry V.  Jeremy Irons as Henry IV, Tom Hiddleston as Henry V.  SWOOOOOOOON.  I cannot stop swooning at this man.  When he comes on the scene wearing an oxblood red leather doublet, his gilded hair in waves, grinning.  Wow.  Plus, Shakespeare is just so damned sexy.  Really sexy.  I’m trying to figure it out, and it has something to do with him codifying modern English in way that no one had ever done before.  So many turns of phrase started with him — or he’s the one who wrote them down first, and cleverest.  For me, hearing Shakespeare done well is like hearing the source code for English zapping straight into my hindbrain.  So sexy.  (See, this is how I know that English was definitely the right major for me.)

Also, I didn’t realize how tall Hiddleston is until watching these.  In the Marvel movies he’s surrounded by all these very tall, very buff, superheroic dude-guys, and he looks like the short skinny nerd guy.  Turns out, he’s 6’2″ (I looked it up) and he’s half a head taller than everybody else in The Hollow Crown.   He looms.  It’s cool.

 

2 Responses to “other things I have been watching”

  1. Jazzlet Says:

    Brazil, scary and so very sad.

    Although I have a thing for cooling towers, so even though that scene is heartbreaking, it’s in a cooling tower!

  2. Susan A. Says:

    I would definitely suggest that instead of watching True Blood that you read the books. They are one of my favorite series.

    I also LOVED the Hollow Crown series. They showed it on PBS this year and I watched all of Henry IV and Henry V multiple times. Hiddleston is completely swoon-worthy. Did you happen to see the YouTube video of his ALS ice bucket challenge? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzmNI1JFOnM#t=38


Leave a Reply

