panic!

August 8, 2014

Next week, I start on my biggest trip of the year:  two countries, two conventions, and a whole lot to worry about.

WHAT AM I FORGETTING I KNOW I AM FORGETTING SOMETHING.

What’s worse is I’ve already started putting together the “things I have to do when I get back” list, mostly because I’ve had a couple of things land on me this week that I’m just not going to be able to finish before I leave, so I’m putting them off.  On the one hand, I’m glad I don’t have to worry about them now.  But yeah, I can already tell I’m going to be busy when I get home.  Sigh.

I’m packing in a bunch of stuff:  the conventions, touristy stuff, and visiting old friends.  Also, I did something kind of unusual for me and signed up for an organized tour in Ireland.  I wanted some actual vacation time, but I couldn’t decide if I wanted to rent a car, try to navigate buses, or even what I wanted to see.  And I really didn’t know if I was going to have the energy to sort it all out after two conventions in a row.  So, I’m letting someone else make all the decisions.  And I have to say, I’m looking at my travel calendar now, where every single day is packed with stuff, but that last week is completely clear and I just have to show up on time, and it looks amazing.  It looks relaxing.

Ah yes, I do think I’m looking forward to this trip.

So:  London and Dublin.  Who will I see there?

 

7 Responses to “panic!”


  1. Me. But you knew that.

    Have a good trip.

  2. Kendall Lovely Says:

    That does sound like a crazy amount of planning. It should be an awesome trip, though.
    So, I know you’re busy, with this for sure, (and I tried emailing you this, and I’m not sure it went through, or if it did I might have double-sent it. Sorry about that), but I was wondering if you’d be willing to do a super-cool, albeit strange fan favor. For the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen (that’s Misha Collin’s competition), I need to find a NY Times bestselling author to do a dramatic reading of a section of the following link: http://apps.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/hdbk/right_of_way.htm . The video only has to be 15 seconds long. It’s okay if you’d rather not too, since it is a rather silly request, but if you’re willing, I need the video by 1 am tonight. Thanks.
    –Kendall Lovely
    P.S. My team name is PuppySocksLovesExtremeDreamers

  3. carriev Says:

    Hi Kendall! Eeek — the emails didn’t get through! I even checked the spam folder. I’m sorry!

    (I got people asking me to write the 140 word story, but not about this one!) I hope you had fun with the scavenger hunt.

  4. Tim Schmidt Says:

    London & Dublin, don’t I wish! I was in London many years ago and found it a wonderful city. I’ve never had the pleasure of visiting Dublin.

    Have a great time!

    Tim

  5. Kendall Lovely Says:

    That’s fine. Thanks for looking at least. One of my teammates has some sci-fi books on Amazon, so we had the story covered. He just wasn’t a NY TImes bestselling author. We did get still get several items on the list, and it was a lot of fun.

  6. Vampyre Says:

    Howdy,

    It looks like you’re already set for a great trip. Stay safe and watch out for the wee(Wii?) people in Ireland.

    I didn’t realize it at first but I’ve read almost all of your books. Way back in the day, I also read some of the very first Wild Cards books. Looks like I need to start over with them.

  7. Sharrow Says:

    Looking forward to seeing you at Shamrokon.


Leave a Reply

