for your edification

April 25, 2014

So, I’ve been looking for a good version of Prokofiev’s “Peter and the Wolf” to give to my niece Emmy.  I found one, something close to the one I listened to as a kid.  I also dug up another album from my collection, one I haven’t listened to in ages.  One that’s obscure enough that I’ve had trouble finding it on YouTube or anywhere else to even give you a sample of.  What is this lost treasure?

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you “Peter and the Wolf,” and “Carnival of the Animals Part Two,” by “Weird Al” Yankovic and Wendy Carlos (composer of the original Tron soundtrack).

This is only one song from his version of “Carnival of the Animals,” but it gives you an idea.  I listened to “Peter and the Wolf” for the first time in probably fifteen years, and it’s freaking hysterical.  “And as always, the part of Bob the Janitor will be played by…the accordion!”

I’m so glad I can pass this sort of cultural legacy on to my niece.

 

Leave a Reply

