friday

March 21, 2014

Whew, lots of deep thinking this week.  Time for a frivolous post.  Last night I knitted and watched the first Hobbit movie, and it made me super sad because the whole sequence with the Dwarves at Bag End is just so absolutely perfect, it makes the second movie seem even worse.  It’s like at some point Jackson stopped trusting the source material.  But for at least that stretch, he nailed it.

I’m knitting a shawl, and the section I’m in has increases, three stitches a row for something like 50 rows, which is going to take forever, but it also feels very zen.  All that repetitive action and at the end I’ll have this giant thing.

I also need to go do laundry and water a tree. (It is so dry here right now…)  And I hear there’s a Muppet movie opening this weekend… (I haven’t been to a movie in ages.  Two weeks ’til Captain America!)

Have a good weekend, y’all.

5 Responses to “friday”


  1. I ctrotched one of those curly shawls that need lots of duplicate stitches. I found myself working on it whenever I had a stressful phone call. They are such great stress relievers!

  2. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    Have a great weekend, Carrie.

  3. Doruk Says:

    People complained that there was too much walking and singing. I remember the book, it *was* all walking and singing!!!

  4. William S. Lyman Says:

    Carrie,
    I am a 69 year old retired man. I have to live with some pain on a daily basis unless I want to be drugged up all the time. Your series about Kitty has given me an opportunity to escape. For someone so young, you have a very interesting insight to relationships and needs. Most of all, your imagination is wonderful. Thank you for making my days so much nicer.

  5. howardbrazee Says:

    The first movie had some of the excesses of the 2nd movie. The fighting with the trolls was irritating, as the book’s depiction is almost as good as Poul Anderson’s.


Leave a Reply

