current state of the desk

February 12, 2014

It turns out I’ve been a productive bunny for the last few months, because I looked up last week and realized I have four rough drafts for various projects just sitting there.  I need to revise those and get those out, so I can clear my brain for next round.  I’ve also made a couple of short story sales and have some others waiting in the wings.  Busy, busy!

Sewing:  I’m finally making that Regency gown I’ve had my eye on for years.  I cut the pieces last night.  It’s going to be great.  I had this chunk of wine-colored silk in my stash for 10 years, and it’s finally getting used for this.  I’ve moved my sewing machine into the living room so I can sew and watch the Olympics.

The Olympics.  I’m catching it in bits and pieces this year.  One thing has struck me:  the human-interest commentators are a bit stressed out about being in Russia.  It’s like the Cold War is still on.  I’ve been watching the Olympics my whole life, and I’ve never gotten the feeling from the anchors that they were sitting in enemy territory trying to play nice the way I’ve gotten this time around.  Not even in Beijing.  I looked it up:  this is the very first time the U.S. has traveled to Russia for the Olympics.  The U.S. boycotted the 1980 Moscow summer games, and that’s the only other time the Olympics have been in Russian territory.  I understand that we all grew up with the cold war and watching movies like Red Dawn and Dr. Strangelove and, hell, Rocky and Bullwinkle.  But come on.  This isn’t the movies.  If ever there was a situation where we need to act like Russia isn’t the bad guy, this is it.  It’s damned weird.  Not to mention, a big chunk of the competitors weren’t even alive when there was a Soviet Union.  Seriously, get over it.

(Now, on the other hand, there’s the issue of Russia’s human rights abuses and policies toward LGBT rights.  That probably makes them bad guys.  But the commentators are carefully not mentioning any of that.  Go figure.)

5 Responses to “current state of the desk”


  1. I haven’t seen enough of the human interest stuff to comment, but I think we’re on an upswing in terms of geo-political rivalry, so it does feel a bit like the bad old days, only without the whole nuclear annihilation thing. When you take that out of the equation, it makes for a fun sports rivalry.

  2. Calico Says:

    I assumed the nerves you are referring to was due to the whole anti-gay thing going on over there. Lots of people are boycotting even watching because of that.

  3. carriev Says:

    I think that’s part of it, but there’s definitely some “Let’s peek through the Iron Curtain to take a look at some parts of Russian culture that may surprise some people. Did you know the Russians really love ballet?” bits that have left me scratching my head.

  4. Susan Says:

    it could also be because of the terrorist threats that were made before the games began.

  5. Griggk the goblin Says:

    “and so my child and I came to this place
    To meet him eye to eye and face to face.
    He made my daughter laugh, and we embraced.
    We never knew what friends we had
    until we came to Leningrad”

    Billy Joel said it quite well a few decades ago. It’s time to move on.


Leave a Reply

