autumn

October 28, 2013

Woke up this morning to overcast skies and chilly weather.  This was after a week of bright sun and warm days.  This means the seasons in Colorado have well and truly turned.  My ash tree is now bare, my aspens are all golden, and the locust trees are getting there.  I really wanted to go hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park this fall (I even have an annual parks pass this year!), but the road from here to there is still closed to general traffic from the flooding.  I could get there the round-about way via a different road, but that would be something like a four-hour trip rather than the usual one-hour trip, and I just haven’t made time for it.

Believe it or not, I think I’m in the mood for colder weather.  I’ll change my mind around January, but for now I’m ready for something different.  This time of year, I’m constantly caught between being too cold and too warm.  It’s too warm for coats but too chilly for just a sweater.  I’m ready for my hats and scarves and big wooly gloves.  I’m ready for the holidays.

In the meantime, I’m at that point where I have so much to do that I just end up on the sofa watching Lexx and knitting random crap that I didn’t plan on knitting…

One Response to “autumn”

  1. John Y. Says:

    Sounds like me. Ready for the change in the weather. I remember hearing about Lexx, Ill need to see if I can find that one to watch.


Leave a Reply

