the traditional post-con recovery blog post

October 21, 2013

As is often the case, it’s not so much that I’m overstimulated and brain fried after the convention this past weekend.  It’s that I have a million things to do and I haven’t been home working for three days.  It’s a really nice day out, so I’m going to try to get some outdoorsy chores done — I’m happy doing it, because the sun feels so good.  I drove through a bit of a snowstorm picking Lily up from my parents yesterday, so I’m reminded that winter is on its way and I need to enjoy the sun while I have it.

I purposefully arranged a low-key convention for myself.  I wanted to lay low and talk with people and maybe buy some art and jewelry and tea.  I did all these things!  I even went to the “Heroes of Cosplay” bitching panel and a couple of us came up with the cosplay/costuming reality show we’d like to see.  I may start dressing up at cons more — I just get so excited about it.

Highlights for me also included getting to spend time with Guests of Honor Seanan McGuire and Cathrynne Valente, both of whom I’ve known for years but I rarely get to see them and have actual conversations.  I recruited them to co-host the Midnight Hour with me and we all had a fabulous time.

The con also introduced me to the art of Guest of Honor Aaron Miller.  He’s really good.   Check out his work.  Dragons of Red Rocks Canyons looks like a scene from Voices of Dragons.

And that was my weekend. Big smiles, I’m telling you.

One Response to “the traditional post-con recovery blog post”

  1. Toni Says:

    We had to leave the Carrie Radio event early (puppy drama), and I was wondering who your two guests were. They were such fun! Really enjoy this every year (it happens).


Leave a Reply

