Wonderbook!

October 16, 2013

Awhile back Jeff VanderMeer asked me some questions about writing for a “how to” book he was doing.

Last week, in exchange for my literally one-paragraph contribution, I received a copy of the book.

Oh my gosh, you guys, Wonderbook: an Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction is amazing.  It’s full color, fully illustrated, with diagrams and pictures and visualizations, and, and…  It’s going to take me months to go through and process it all.  I’m very much looking forward to it.  “How to write” books are kind of hit or miss — they either speak to you or they don’t.  But this is one that should have something for everyone.  And it’s just so pretty to look at.  It’s a writing book and an art book.

To give you a taste, Jeff sent me a jpg of my bit, one of a couple dozen “revision snakes,” which collectively illustrate that there’s no one right answer for “How many times should I revise my manuscript?”

22_Vaughn-01

Seriously, this book is so pretty.

Wonderbook’s publisher page.

Wonderbook’s official website with even more content.

I’m teaching at a couple of workshops next year (Shared Worlds, and I’m running the workshop at FenCon), and I do believe I’m going to raid Wonderbook for ideas.

Leave a Reply

