movie ticket time capsule

October 14, 2013

I cleaned out the pockets of one of my jackets and found a stash of movie ticket stubs from years and years ago.  I do this — I shove ticket stubs in jacket pockets and discover them years later.

What movies have I paid money to see over the last ten years?  Here we go, in no particular order:

  • Kate and Leopold (Many of my friends and I still swoon at the words “I made you toast with strawberries and mascarpone.”)
  • Die Another Day
  • Brotherhood of the Wolf
  • Treasure Planet
  • Imposter
  • Star Trek: Nemesis
  • Peter Pan (the live action one from ’04)
  • Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (judging by the 12/17/2003 date on the ticket)
  • The Triplets of Belleville
  • House of Flying Daggers
  • Robin Hood (the Russell Crowe one)
  • The Interpreter (I have absolutely no memory of seeing this, which makes me think I got this ticket and actually went to see something else.)
  • The Count of Monte Cristo
  • Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Rings (3/27/2002 date on this ticket, so it just about has to be the first one.)
  • Lord of the Rings:  Fellowship of the Rings (12/19/2001 date on this one, which must have been opening weekend.    I really need to clean my pockets out more often.  In my defense, I don’t wear that jacket very often.  And yes, I think I saw all the LotR movies in theaters twice.)
  • Harry Potter 2.

So yes, I do need to clean out my pockets more often, obviously.  But this does bring back memories.

2 Responses to “movie ticket time capsule”

  1. wiredwizard Says:

    On my desk is an ice cream pail of movie tickets ranging from the 1990’s to last month. There’s a couple of concert tickets in there too I think…

  2. Jazzlet Says:

    Oh joyous excitment at The Triplets of Bellevue, there is another Bellvue movie! Dashed by the discovery that it was released as Bellville Rendezvous in the UK so it is the film I saw. Ah well at least I was reminded of it.


Leave a Reply

