flood

September 13, 2013

I am okay.  I’m not in an evacuation zone, but it’s a close thing.  My town has a river in the middle of it where there’d been just a creek a couple of days ago.  By this evening, we’ll have been under a flash flood warning for 48 hours.

I had water in my basement because of a broken window well liner.  It’s under control, but I’ve been bailing water for two nights to keep it that way.  I’m tired.  Very sore.  But I’m okay, and Lily is a super trooper, putting up with it all.

I’ve lived in Boulder County for 15 years now, and you don’t live here that long without hearing lots of stories of 100 and 500 year floods and sheets of solid water pouring through towns.  I never thought I’d actually see it happen.  Water gathers in the mountains and pours down narrow creek channels in a solid wall, carrying debris and destruction.  We’ve had almost our entire annual average rainfall in four days.  It’s bad. 

I’m staying home. Most of the roads around me are closed, so I can’t go anywhere anyway. I haven’t lost power yet, I have plenty of food and water.  I’m not worried.  I just have to wait it out.  But it’s going to be weird emerging from all this, because my town’s going to look kind of broken for awhile, I think.

11 Responses to “flood”

  1. Jenn Burke Says:

    Wishing you all the best.

  2. Andrew Says:

    Hang in there.

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Hard to say if snow would have been better. I heard that this would have been 100+ inches of snow. I’d take the snow. There is a tiny patch of blue sky, getting larger out side my office window in downtown Denver.

  4. Deb Anderson Says:

    Glad you’re prepared, sorry you’re experiencing it.


  5. Be well, thinking good thoughts for you.


  6. Hang in there. Sending you lots of good vibes.

  7. Juls Says:

    Glad to know you’re doing well Carrie; stay safe!

  8. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Glad you are safe, Carrie! Hope you power stays on and things start clearing up. I certainly didn’t get the full burnt of it, but Expo Park near where I live is now ‘Lake Expo’ for at least a while.

    My friend is far enough into the mountains that she did have to evacuate today, and it’s just scary hearing about it.

    I will be sending you good vibes and prayers.

  9. Jim Says:

    Hi Carrie i am sorry to hear about your troubles, I hope you and your family are safe and your town gets back to normal soon. Here is something to cheer you up I just got hold of Iron Man 3 on blue ray, in the features there is a short film called one shot agent carter. This film is exactly the type of story you always ask for, it is like Marvel made it specially for you enjoy.

  10. Dustin Says:

    This Post made me think of you😀.

  11. carriev Says:

    Thanks for all the good wishes. We are starting to dry out, I hope!


Leave a Reply

