#20

August 9, 2013

Kitty in the Underworld is #20 on the NYT bestseller list that comes out Sunday.  Woooo!  Thank you, my readers, for your support and book buying!

Most of my signings and appearances for the book take place next week:

This Sunday, August 11, 3 pm:  I’m reading and signing at the Broadway Book Mall in Denver.

Tuesday, August 13, I’m taking part in the SFWA Northwest Reading Series in Seattle, along with Laura Anne Gilman and Barbara Caridad Ferrer.  JOIN US!

Wednesday, August 14, 7 pm:  Signing at Powell’s Cedar Hills location near Portland, OR.  In a scheduling snafu that is entirely my fault, this is also the same night as the SFWA Reading Series event in Portland.  If want to go to both, and are having trouble deciding between the SFWA Reading Series event and my signing — go to the SFWA event, because you’ll get three authors for one (Laura Anne Gilman, Phyllis Irene Radford and Diana Pharaoh Francis).  And I’ll be back in Portland at some point, I’m sure.  (It’s also been pointed out to me that I’m the only author in this series with just two names.)

And after next week:

August 23-25:  Bubonicon in Albuquerque, NM

Aug. 29-Sept 2:  Worldcon in San Antonio, TX.  I’m not listed on the program participants list right now, for reasons I’m not entirely sure of, but I will be there.

And that’s my schedule for the month.  Ta da!

I had a thought this week.  When I started out with the writing and trying to get published thing, my goal wasn’t “get published.”  That was a stepping stone, sure.  But the real goal was “make a living as a writer.”  That steered a lot of my decision making along the way about how to go about pursuing this gig.

3 Responses to “#20”

  1. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Awesome, Carrie, congratulations!

    I totally forgot about your signing this weekend after the crazy first week back at work. Thanks for the reminder though, now I can totally make sure to go this weekend.

  2. sylvia Says:

    Due to small fonts, I read this as “Kitty in Discworld” instead of Underworld, and I think my brain broke.

    And, why does this line stop short of details?
    “When I started out with the writing and trying to get published thing, my goal wasn’t “get published.” That was a stepping stone, sure. But the real goal was “make a living as a writer.” That steered a lot of my decision making along the way about how to go about pursuing this gig.”

  3. carriev Says:

    Because all I really wanted to say with that was “Think about your long term goals.” I see a lot of newbie writers making short-term decisions that may not actually help them in a long-term writing career.


Leave a Reply

