have I ever mentioned?

June 28, 2013

How much I like being a grownup?  Being a grownup means going out for a burger at 9 pm because I finished a scuba refresher class and I was hungry and too tired to cook anything at home.  It means putting sugar on my cornflakes if I want.  And this is going to sound crazy, but paying bills makes me feel pretty darned good, because it means I’m taking care of myself.  I’m a functional human being.  My eyes kind of bug out when anyone talks about wanting to be a kid again, or that high school was the best time of their lives.  Being a kid means being dependent, and being limited to what other people decide for you, not what you want for yourself.

I know a lot of people associate being a kid with having fun, and being an adult with not having fun.  But seriously, if that’s how it’s working for you, you’re doing it wrong!  Being adult and responsible is awesome because it means developing the resources for making my own fun.  I have more fun now than I ever did as a kid.  My kid self would be so jealous of my closet full of costumes.

I walk around my house, which is exactly the way I want it.  Full of stuff I picked out myself.  A little messier than I’d like maybe, but I’m working on that.  I like that I’m a grownup and no one is telling me I have to clean it all right now.

9 Responses to “have I ever mentioned?”

  1. Beth Says:

    Amen, sister!


  2. I dunno, I just keep thinking of this xkcd strip whenever I contemplate living on my own.

  3. Tim Schmidt Says:

    I agree with what you’ve said. I’ve no desire to be a teenager again. Though, being grown up also means that most of us work all week to support our independence and, unfortunately having to forgo the burger (or pizza, in my case) to keep the waistline in check.

    Tim


  4. Growing up means working all week? Well, that’s nothing new — when we were kids, we had school! 😉 Only thing is, a job is much better than school: you get to choose your job, and you don’t have homework when you go home. I enjoy my job much more than I ever enjoyed school. And jobs PAY you!! 😀

    I also get to eat way more pizza than I did as a kid. I, too, like to watch the waistline — but pizza once a week does no serious damage.🙂

    Wouldn’t trade being an adult for anything, myself. I had a very happy childhood, but my toys are WAY cooler now.🙂

  5. Flo Says:

    Yep, being an adult is late nights and fun food of your choosing…until you have kids. Then all you want is to get more sleep and eat a meal without interruption. Ah, to live alone and to to do whatever you want, when you want. A stage of life to enjoy to it’s fullest while you can.🙂

  6. carriev Says:

    I don’t have kids and don’t plan to. It’s a choice.

  7. flo Says:

    So true, it’s just one creative avenue to choose. Raising a child uses up most of mine and I look forward to the day when my daughter is out of the house and I can have more energy to create other things. Like music and stories!

  8. Carrie V. Says:

    Yup — and I’m really enjoying being a crazy auntie to my niece!


  9. […] a new thing in this space, certainly, but damn, if Carrie Vaughn didn’t just write something I feel like I could’ve written […]


Leave a Reply

