random movie reviews

June 14, 2013

It’s a Friday.  I’ve been heartbroken watching the news of the Black Forest fire north of Colorado Springs, which is right near my old neighborhood.  The high school I graduated from and the house my family lived in are in the pre-evacuation zone.  (My family has since moved away, so we’re all safe, no worries.  But wow, I know that area, you know?  It’s where I went driving when I was pissed off and didn’t want to talk to anyone.)  I remember watching the Waldo Canyon Fire last year and thinking it couldn’t get any worse than that.  And here we are, a year later, and it’s worse.

So, random movies seen on TV lately:

The People vs. Larry Flynt.  I was totally curious, and the thing hooked me enough to draw me through it.  It’s a typical biopic, in that it has no plot to speak of.  But Courtney Love and Ed Norton are both amazing in their supporting roles, and the film features many fine, cogent, articulate discussions of various freedom of speech issues.  I just love that a movie exists where the climactic scene is Ed Norton delivering an argument to the Supreme Court.

Supernova.  I must have noticed when this thing was out in theaters, but I didn’t see it, which is good because holy cow is this thing awful.  Truly, astonishingly awful.  It clearly wanted to be just like Event Horizon — only it picked the terrible second half of Event Horizon to emulate, instead of the brilliant first half.  Big mistake!  So yes.  I can’t even get into the awfulness of this.  Derivative, nonsensical — and really bad science.  Really bad.  It’s too much.  Which is too bad because it’s got kind of an awesome cast.  Like Angela Bassett, who needs to do more SF movies.  And James Spader is actually kind of hot as the bad boy hero.  But yeah, you all know how much I loathe Event Horizon, and this thing makes Event Horizon look Oscar worthy.

4 Responses to “random movie reviews”

  1. nancy Says:

    I live in the land of fire in northern california, real northern california, not mid california where SF is! It is horrifying when fire season breaks loose. I try not to travel during fire season, I feel to queasy leaving all my animals and home to chance. Today is windy with single digit humidity, one sniffs the wind and watches for columns of smoke. Routinely. Always.

  2. WanabePBWriter Says:

    http://listverse.com/2013/06/14/10-rare-animals-with-bizarre-adaptations/

    The acctual SC chambers are way more impressive than what they had to use
    for the movie, but that was my favorite part of the movie. The link is for a Were animal option from South America.

  3. Catherine Says:

    Could not agree more with your opinion on Event Horizon. It is so pathetically bad and for some crazy reason there were several movies after it that tried to imitate it. It seems like someone should have noticed how bad it got somewhere along the way and at least tried not to repeat the others’ mistakes.


  4. I saw Supernova in the theatres, though it was a discount showing, and it wasn’t any better on the big screen. It truly was one of the few films worse than Event Horizon (if Laurence Fishburn and Sam Neill can’t save a film, you can’t make it better without them).


Leave a Reply

