Denver Comic Con debriefing

June 3, 2013

  • Apparently, attendance approached 50,000, making this something like 1/3 the size of SDCC.  Which is HUGE.
  • Pro privilege is a wonderful thing, but this time I felt a bit guilty about using my super-powered badge to bypass every possible line.  Probably because this is my local community and some of the people waiting in those huge lines were my friends.
  • I’ve learned that it’s really hard being a fan and a pro at the same time.  You start making calculations like, “Do I make the effort to go see Wil Weaton’s and Fecilia Day’s talk even though I’ll have to leave after 20 minutes to go to my own panel?”  Eventually, you get tired and stop trying to do anything because you’ll always be disappointed.
  • Speaking of which, I didn’t find out until it was too late that the GI Joe Film Festival had a presentation at the con.  ARGH!
  • I really want to do more costuming.  The sheer breadth of costuming at this con showed me that even obscure costuming is just fine.
  • I know I’m out of touch because of the number of costumes I didn’t recognize.
  • $75 for a William Shatner autograph?  Did I read that right?
  • The Enigma!  Closest famous person I got to… But he was in one of my favorite episodes of The X-Files.
  • I have a blank spot on my big wall of art, and I think I finally know what I want to put there.  Something steampunk and landscapy. Now I just need to keep my eyes open…
  • Panels are best when audiences ask lots of smart questions.  The audiences are all smart.

5 Responses to “Denver Comic Con debriefing”


  1. So Carrie, a question, that’s somewhat relevant due to the topic and something that got mentioned when you got mentioned on a message board:

    Have you ever thought about trying to write comics?


  2. The Enigma! That’s so cool. I got to see him when he did a Knott’s Scary Farm Halloween event in California. Also saw him when he was traveling with the Jim Rose Circus.

    Sounds like the con was great.

  3. LupLun Says:

    Suggestion: use pro privilege to cut into the line where your friends are waiting, then talk geek with them on the way in. ^_^

  4. Carrie V. Says:

    Alex: Why yes, I’ve thought about writing comics a lot. I’ve got some threads I’m working on in that direction.

    LupLun: I would have stayed to chat with my friends if my panel hadn’t started in 10 minutes… :-/


  5. Carrie: Awesome! So, Kitty ongoing when?😀


Leave a Reply

