all-steampunk weekend

April 1, 2013

AnomalyCon was a good time — so glad I finally got to this one in its third year!  I didn’t get any good pictures myself, so I’ll direct you to this gallery, featuring my friend Jeff’s “Warehouse 12” outfit.  I had a great time getting to gossip with Gail Carriger and S.J. Chambers, co-author of the amazing Steampunk Bible.  I had a most triumphant reading — no one else wanted to do a Sunday morning reading, so I volunteered for the slot.  We moved from the bar, where it was scheduled, because there was some kind of Easter brunch going on, to the hotel’s fireside lobby, where I had a dozen or so people gathered around me, storytime-like.  We had a calm, relaxing gathering on a quiet Sunday morning, and avoided all of the noise/logistic problems that I heard going on with every other reading that weekend.  We win!

Sunday night, I hied myself, along with some friends, to the Church nightclub for Dr. Krishna’s Maniacal Steampunk Ball.  And what a lovely time, seeing everyone dressed to the nines and finally getting to see Voltaire perform in person.  I realized something, last night:  I think one of the reasons I love steampunk gatherings, especially steampunk balls and masquerades, is because it harkens back to a time when people got dressed up to go out.  I like going to the symphony, but these days you’ll see people wearing jeans to the theater and to plays and all, and that’s just not right, I think.  It’s special.  You should dress up.  You should step out of your mundane life and make an event of it.  The people who go to steampunk balls understand this!  Here’s the photo gallery from the ball.

Also, there was the male burlesque act inspired by Clockwork Orange, which really needed to be seen to be believed.

4 Responses to “all-steampunk weekend”

  1. Amy Says:

    I can ask you, rather than a list!
    Jim Butcher will be writing a steampunk series, and I’d like to see what current steampunk is like.
    But I have no steampunk friends to recommend a good place to start. Where is a good place to start steampunk, both in written and audio-visual formats?
    Did you like Horatio Hornblower?
    Thanks!

  2. carriev Says:

    In fact I heard about the Butcher steampunk series for the first time this weekend!

    Haven’t read Horatio Hornblower. But I’d recommend these to get started:
    Boneshaker and other Clockwork Century books by Cherie Priest

    Scott Westerfeld’s steampunk trilogy: Leviathan, Behemoth, and Goliath.

    The three steampunk anthologies edited by Jeff and Ann VanderMeer (Steampunk, Steampunk Reloaded, Steampunk Revolution)

    There hasn’t been a whole lot of really good recent visual steampunk, but I’d start with the Robert Downy Jr. Sherlock Holmes movies for sure. Then go to the old Wild Wild West TV series, The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr., Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow, stuff like that.

  3. Amy Says:

    I’ll go see what I think of them. Thanks!


  4. […] Carrie Vaughn Recounts Her All-Steampunk Weekend […]


Leave a Reply

