research for writing

February 27, 2013

Research can be a mixed bag.  There are always exciting gems to be discovered, but if you find yourself writing about an obscure enough topic, you may not find anything at all.  In the Harry and Marlowe stories, I’m writing about an actual historical figure — but the only comprehensive biography about her is in Norwegian.  If I want to know more about Maud of Wales, I have to come at it sideways.  This week, I’m excited because I got a package in the mail, an out-of-print book that I managed to find and order:

photo (2)

Maud is the one in the middle, with her two older sisters, Victoria and Louise.  This is the book that’s going to help me write more Harry and Marlowe stories.  I’m to a point in the sequence where I need to know more about her family, her relationships with her siblings, her grandmother, and the political situation of the real history and how I can use that to shape the alternate history.  I’ll learn more about Maud, and about her brother George, who also appears in the stories. I’m only a couple chapters in and I’ve already learned a bunch.

  • Maud knew Russian.
  • George had a productive career in the Navy.  On an early training voyage, he tried to bring a pet kangaroo home from Australia  to give to his sisters.
  • I had forgotten that her oldest brother Prince Albert Victor has been proposed as a possible candidate for the identity of Jack the Ripper in some of the wilder Ripper theories. (This is a very wild claim, as he was most likely not even in London during the murders.)
  • Her father, Edward VII, was a bit profligate and there were very likely at least a couple of illegitimate half siblings.
  • She was an avid chess player and a patron of the International Ladies Chess Congress.  In other news, there was an International Ladies Chess Congress.

 

And all the photos of young Maud and her family are just wonderful.  She always seems to have this very impatient look in her eye, as if she’s thinking, “Pictures are silly, let’s get on with it.”  This is all stuff I can use.  Bwah ha ha!

7 Responses to “research for writing”

  1. James Says:

    I presume you also know she was considered quite the feminist (at least for the time) too?

    Her son, Olav V, was a bit of a character too.

    /me suffered through grandparents who could name everyone of Victoria and Albert’s children and grandchildren, their lineage, characteristics and fates. This information has stuck with me. I can’t do long division by hand anymore but can name Edward VII’s kids.🙂


  2. I love research, and I get so many story ideas that way. I just have to be careful not to get so caught up in the research that I don’t leave time to write. History is fun!

  3. Carrie V. Says:

    Re: feminist — I’m only a few chapters in! I did know she was physically active, quite a tomboy, and quite her own person about many things. What I’m reading now is that Edward and Alexandra were quite indulgent parents and the whole brood were considered a bit wild and uncouth, and Victoria was kind of a nightmarish mother-in-law. So many potential stories!

  4. Adam. Says:

    My Granddad was an Albert Victor.

    Great-Granddad was somewhat patriotic.

    But is that preferable to naming your offspring after the latest pop sensation?

  5. Jazzlet Says:

    Or all of a football team!

    But yay again to more Harry and Marlowe🙂


  6. But yay again to more Harry and Marlowe !!!!!!!!!

  7. visit Says:

    Undeniably believe that that you stated. Your favourite justification seemed to be
    on the net the simplest factor to bear in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed
    whilst people consider concerns that they plainly do not recognize
    about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , folks could take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thanks


Leave a Reply

