music for Friday

October 12, 2012

I’ve talked before about the nineteen or thirty or so story ideas I have tucked away, for when I finally have time to work on them.  It’s like I have mental folders, and I’ll just keep slipping ideas into those various story folders until they get so full that I have to start working on them.  Ever hear of a memory palace?  A method of remembering in which you imagine the things you want to remember as having a physical location, and to recall those things, you imagine yourself physically accessing that location?  How I keep track of all my story ideas isn’t quite like that, but it’s close.  What’s really cool, though, is I’ll often have a song or set of songs that I start associating with a particular story folder.  Then, whenever I hear that song, I think of the story, the story’s folder opens, and all the ideas start tumbling around in my mind.  I get excited about the story all over again.  I know that when I’m ready to start writing, I can play the music and be right there, inside the story, ready to go.

The song that opens my subversive epic fantasy folder:

I have a whole playlist for the space opera.  Here’s one of the songs:

If I’m driving late at night, I love putting on my space opera playlist and dreaming about big, industrial spaceships, and characters confronting the vastness of everything.

3 Responses to “music for Friday”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    I picture a night shift junior officer; into 20th century music caught dancing on the flight deck.

  2. Sun Says:

    *coughs* Which song makes you think of the “Voices of Dragons” sequel?🙂

  3. Carrie V. Says:

    Led Zeppelin “Ramble On”


Leave a Reply

