I suppose this might be a bit of a spoiler for the new book…

August 1, 2012

 

This is a statue of Edward Alleyn, the Elizabethan actor.  I got to visit it on my London research trip in 2010.  It’s new, unveiled in 2008, and stands in Dulwich, just south of London.  I love it for lots of reasons.  Mostly because this is a guy who had such an impact on his community that people are still thinking of him and commemorating him almost four hundred years after his death.  He had no children of his own, so he used his considerable fortune to found a boys’ school and charity hospital.  The school is still there, which is why he’s shown playing with a child.

He was a respected actor and businessman in his day, but he wasn’t the kind of guy anyone was going to be erecting statues of, you know?  I mean, an actor?  Someone who actually made his money on his own without inheriting it?  Sheesh.  And yet here he is.  I think he’d be pleased.  Amused, but pleased.

It’s a kind of immortality, isn’t it?  Metaphorically, of course.  I keep telling people, as long as characters like this are lurking in history, I’ll never run out of things to write about.

 

5 Responses to “I suppose this might be a bit of a spoiler for the new book…”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Thank you for the book signing! It was so awesome to meet you! I made it back to the other side of Atlanta. I’m about halfway through “Kitty Steals the Show” Love it!

  2. Lionus Says:

    Actors back then, and through the centuries up until the last hundred or so years, while entertaining, were viewed with a certain degree of distrust off stage. After all, how could we trust a person whose practiced art was lying on stage; essentially making us believe that the person he/she seemed to be, or the emotions they were evidencing to us, were true when they were not?

    Not much difference then between that and the job description of a con man or swindler.😉

  3. Thomas Says:

    The statue is amazing, and I think it reflects greatly the whole book and especially the speech at the end of the book.

    I literally just finished “Kitty Steals the Show” and it was amazing. It was encouraging as well with themes of, “don’t give up, keep talking and communicating, and if you need help ask/get help.”

    Too bad I won’t be here when your at Denver Book Mall. Oh well, just one more book for me to ask you to sign when I next see you.🙂

    Keep up the amazing, Carrie!

  4. Jakk Says:

    Totally off topic, and i apologize, but i wanted to share with Carrie that Christopher Eccleston will be playing Malekith the Accursed, leader of the Dark Elves, in Thor 2.🙂

    Waiting for Squee in 3…2…1…

  5. carriev Says:

    I saw that! always love seeing him…


Leave a Reply

