Astrophilia

July 2, 2012

I was away for the weekend and am still sorting myself out on my return.  But I would like to announce that my story “Astrophilia” is in the July issue of Clarkesworld Magazine.  Go forth and read!  (This one is set in the same world as “Amaryllis.”)

6 Responses to “Astrophilia”

  1. ltpen315 Says:

    Absolutely loved this story!! Please tell me where I can find a copy of “Amaryllis”?

  2. Carrie V. Says:

    Thanks!

    Amaryllis was in Lightspeed, and nominated for a Hugo last year!

    http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com/fiction/amaryllis/

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    *Spoiler*
    Just finished, a cold chill went up my spine when Toma looked up the hill.
    When you write a dystopian story, does your brain fight you to explain more regarding how things got to be the way they are? Do you spend much time working on the back story of the society?

  4. Carrie V. Says:

    On these particular stories, I’m not thinking much about the “how” at all, because that isn’t my focus. I want to show a post-apocalyptic world, but one that’s actually getting better, that has a little bit of positivity. The “how” doesn’t matter as much, and I’m asking my reader to borrow from other apocalyptic stories that have focused on the “how” to imagine what this one might have been like, rather than trying to explain it myself.

  5. ltpen315 Says:

    Just read “amarllis”…loved it!! More coming?

  6. Carrie V. Says:

    Maybe…at some point…when I can get around to it!


Leave a Reply

