happy Friday

May 18, 2012

Occasionally I get asked a question by someone who doesn’t know me very well, or doesn’t know that I write full-time, or doesn’t really understand writing.  They know I’ve written books, and so they ask, “Are you working on a book now?”  I usually just say a simple, “Yes,” because it would take too long to explain everything that goes through my mind when I get asked that.  Like, I haven’t not been working on a book since 1995.  Most writers I know are always working on a book.  In fact, I’m currently working on about six.  Or even seven or eight.  Depending on how you count.  Writing the next one in the series, post-production on another, outlining and thinking about the next two, writing two more that aren’t in the series, thinking about sequels to two others, plus that dream project that I’ve been keeping notes on for eight years now and that I’ll get around to writing when I actually feel good enough to do the idea justice…

You get the idea.  So yes, I am working on a book currently.

Oh, and my columbine are blooming.

 

5 Responses to “happy Friday”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Don’t know why exactly but your post today brings to mind a question I often have for successful authors. Since I saw you on the Surviving Clarion panel, I have wondered, did you come close at all to hanging it up before you made the commitment to go to Odyssey?

  2. carriev Says:

    No. The closest I came to hanging it up was actually well after Odyssey, and after I’d sold a number of stories, but before I’d sold a novel. Before getting published I knew I was making progress, and as long as I was making progress, I was motivated. When I couldn’t seem to sell a novel, and when I had a long gap between selling short stories, I seemed to stop making progress, and that’s when I got really discouraged.

    I think it’s why you often see writers who publish a few stories and a book or two, then vanish. Because that’s the point where you realize it isn’t going to get any easier no matter how much you publish, and continuing on gets really, really hard.

  3. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Thanks for the response; it would seem that I am in the easy part of dreaming and thinking about stories all the time; and not often enough sitting down to write. Off to ConQuest for inspiration next week.

  4. musicalmom Says:

    Beautiful flowers! Any chance we’ll get a snippet of Kitty Steals the Show any time soon?

  5. carriev Says:

    Working on it…


Leave a Reply

