patterns and cycles

May 11, 2012

This weekend is Mother’s Day. For years, I’ve sent out three Mother’s Day cards: to my mom, and to my two grandmothers. One of my grandmothers passed away last November. So, for the first time, I won’t be buying a card for her (even though I’m thinking of her).

In January, my niece Emmy was born. So it turns out, I’m still sending out three Mother’s Day cards: to my mom, my grandmother, and my sister-in-law.  Funny how that sort of thing ends up working out.

Happy Mother’s Day, to moms and grandmas and aunts and everybody else with kids in their lives.

Leave a Reply

