weekend!

May 4, 2012

I’m going to have to avoid the internet this weekend, because I’m not going to be able to see The Avengers until Sunday.  Gasp!  I know!  But that’s when the rest of the gang can go, so there you are.  I only hope that when Joss Whedon pulls out his patented “shock the audience by killing a beloved character with a random piece of flying shrapnel” schtick, he doesn’t target Agent Coulson.  What are the odds?  He’ll get Pepper instead, won’t he?  And that just ain’t right.  Please, Joss, no random killing shrapnel in this one!

I finally read The Hunger Games, and my inner thirteen year old girl exploded.  Loved it.  Now halfway through Catching Fire, and my inner thirteen year old girl is rioting.  I’m chortling through the whole thing, because it’s so freaking manipulative, and I absolutely love being manipulated by it.  I was talking with the teens at the fencing club about it last night, and when they found out I hadn’t read Mockingjay yet, they freaked out and refused to talk anymore so that they wouldn’t spoil it for me.  So sweet of them!  And then one of them gave me a giant bruise on my arm while sparring, because they are all much better fencers than I am.

5 Responses to “weekend!”

  1. Griggk the goblin Says:

    It’s Marvel. If they can’t keep Elektra, Bucky, or Captain Marvel dead, then Pepper and Agent Coulson needn’t fear the Reaper.

  2. LupLun Says:

    Whoa, hold up. You’re taking fencing lessons? Dude, you gotta show us some pictures! ^_^

  3. Thomas Says:

    All I have to say was awesome as all hell and pretty hilarious throughout!

  4. DebbieW Says:

    I can’t wait to see what comments you have on this movie. We just saw it Sunday with friends, too. Waiting has been difficult as my husband has been an avid comic book geek since he was a boy. As the aircraft carrier lifts into the sky, he leaned over & whispered in my ear, “My inner 13 year-old just had an orgasm!”

  5. Adam. Says:

    Apparently LupLun want’s to see you in fencing breeches…

    I also have a bruise on my arm (bicep) from the FISAS meeting last weekend. A week old and still an angry yellow colour. (and there’s a couple more on my legs and I’m very happy that I remembered to take elbow pads). I think it’s just the universe’s way of telling us to stay out of any actual swordfights that we might stumble accross in our everyday lives. 🙂


Leave a Reply

