a lesson in characterization

May 2, 2012

A couple of weeks ago I was looking on the ABC website to see how many episodes of Castle I missed during my travels (Two!  The horror!) when I found this little gem:  Richard Castle’s Bucket List (pdf).  This is great, because much of it is unsurprising.  We know this character, we can guess what’s on his list.  But what I love are the little stories it reveals that haven’t been told (Castle can juggle chainsaws?!?).  It’s not that I want to know what happened — but knowing there’s a story there makes the character richer.

3 Responses to “a lesson in characterization”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    This has been my first season of Castle, (thanks to you) and the last two episodes have been my favorites so far. Being a Firefly fan I can’t belive I did not know about Castle before.

  2. Tobi Summers Says:

    Forget chainsaws. Castle owns property on the moon?!?

  3. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    Oh my. I hadn’t seen his bucket list. (28) and (29) caused unstoppable giggling.


Leave a Reply

