Cabin in the Woods

April 30, 2012

It’s pretty much impossible to talk about this without spoiling it, and since the Internet did an admirable job of not spoiling it for me over the last couple of weeks, I will return the favor.  Suffice to say, if you’re fond of horror movies and tropes, you pretty much have to see this.

I do have one question:  Why do they even HAVE that button???

12 Responses to “Cabin in the Woods”

  1. Jakk Says:

    There is ALWAYS a button. My only question is which of the little girls in Japan fit the supposed roles?

  2. Kierun Says:

    Why they have the button? Simple, some engineer really hated working there and had skills in building obfuscated specifications.

  3. carriev Says:

    There we go, Cabin in the Woods fanfic about how that button got there.

    I imagine the Japanese system has their own tropes about what happens to people in horror scenarios. Ditto the Swedish system, etc. Don’t know enough about Japanese horror to speculate…

  4. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    Yay! I’d been waiting for you to see it.

    Jakk: each culture had different roles. So the girls in Japan didn’t fit into the five archetypes.

  5. Thomas Says:

    I agree there is always a button. And the reason the button is always there is just so some curious ‘cat’ can push it and cause all kinds of trouble.

    Also just saw Hunger Games and it was very good, on it’s own. Compared to the book there were places where it was stronger than the book and weaker than the book. One thing I particularly liked was just how well it brought home the strangeness of the Capitol.

  6. Doruk Says:

    EVERYBODY asks that question.

    What I wonder is whether the ethnic looking guy corresponding to Scooby-Doo is racist, but I am going to assume it was unintentional😛

  7. carriev Says:

    I have a friend who said, “There’s a guy who’s totally Shaggy, and then there’s Fred and Daphne, and Fred and Daphne…”

  8. Doruk Says:

    It is curious that I think of Daphne as a blond. I know she is not, but I guess it shows the power of archetypes that I feel like she SHOULD be blond.

  9. carriev Says:

    She *is* a redhead, and redheads and blonds have some of the same mythologizing about them. I think that’s the coding you’re responding to.

  10. Lesley Says:

    I want to see it but I don’t do well with modern gore…how gory is it? I got through the Evil Dead movies OK, but the Friday the 13th movies made me flee in nausea…is it worse than that?

  11. carriev Says:

    It’s pretty bad. Decapitations, penetrations, entire rooms drenched. It’s slasher movie cartoony, but I’d say closer to Friday the 13th than Evil Dead.

    It’s usually so fake in these things it doesn’t bother me, but this particular movie is playing with horror film tropes, so it’s a little over the top re: blood.

  12. Cristy M. Says:

    The perfect movie.

    Happy little frog. Let’s sing along with Shinto now.


Leave a Reply

