it’s a Monday!

April 23, 2012

I’m back from the Pikes Peak Writers Conference!  It seems odd, as long as I’ve lived in the area, that I’ve never been to this conference, even when I was a new/struggling/aspiring writer, back in the day.  In fact, I’m pretty sure that the last time I was at the hotel ballroom where the conference’s main events took place was for my senior prom.  No joke.  It’s been redecorated since them, I’m sure.  So, after years of not attending for various reasons, I made it to the PPWC as an instructor, which was pretty cool.

On the drive home I plugged in my iPod and put on my steampunk playlist, which doesn’t just have self-described steampunk music, but also swing, bluegrass, New Age, New Wave, classical, and folk.  Anything that makes me think “steampunk” when it comes up on shuffle.  Great variety, which was exactly what I needed.  And all the music is filled with stories.  I got to thinking it’s time to write another Harry and Marlowe story.  Maybe the one telling how they met and started teaming up on adventures.  I don’t think I could get away with calling it “When Harry Met Marlowe.”

For the moment, I’m working on Kitty 12, barreling my way through the messy middle and making progress.  I have to take one big scene and move it so it happens earlier.  We’ll see how much that messes everything else up, but I have a sneaking suspicion it may actually fix a bunch of pacing issues, so that everything else falls into place.  I love when that happens.

2 Responses to “it’s a Monday!”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    ” I love it when a plan comes together.” lol

  2. Jakk Says:

    I actually think that is a cute title for the Harry and Marlowe story. The more i think about it, it just seems perfect.


Leave a Reply

