Lockout

April 15, 2012

During dinner, before going to see this, I speculated:  would this have an opening scroll, an opening voice over, an opening voice over reading the opening scroll, or an opening scroll followed by a scene with two characters explaining exactly what we read in the opening scroll?

As it turned out, none of the above, which immediately endeared this movie to me.

This was followed by so much WTF-ery I hardly know where to start.  But it’s the right kind of WTF-ery, the kind that keeps us up late on Saturday nights watching the SyFy Channel movie of the week.  One example:  I’m watching the movie, minding my own business, when I think to myself:  “Was that the International Space Station that just crashed into the prison thingy?  Why yes, yes it was.  Huh.”  I don’t think I’ve ever been to a movie where you could feel the entire audience (all 15 of us) thinking, “WTF?!?” at the exact same moment.  Which really is its own kind of awesome.

Also, Guy Pearce playing Snake Plissken as played by Bruce Willis.

If I still haven’t convinced you, consider this:  this is possibly your only chance to see a movie that’s simultaneously an homage to Escape From New York and Star Wars.  No lie.

4 Responses to “Lockout”

  1. Jakk Says:

    Almost went and saw this, but saw Cabin in the Woods instead and loved it. Might give Lockout a try based on your review.


  2. This manages to make me both extremely scared and extremely excited.

  3. carriev Says:

    Cabin in the Woods is probably next up for me.

  4. ArcLight Says:

    Cabin in the Woods was a lot of fun. Lockout…well, you make it sound better than the Fortress 2 remake I thought it looked like, so maybe next weekend….


Leave a Reply

