King’s Landing…er…Dubrovnik!

April 6, 2012

In case you didn’t know, Dubrovnik, a beautiful coastal city on the very southern point of Croatia, was the location for a bunch of the filming on the second season of Game of Thrones.  In fact, one of the Croatian friends I was here to visit was an extra.  An extra who got to do stuff, not just stand in crowds!  I can’t wait to see how much of her scene made it into the episode (it hasn’t aired yet).  So, she gave us the tour not just of Dubrovnik’s medieval walled city, but of King’s Landing, where the show filmed, and what she got to do.  She said the Croatian flags on all the surrounding flagpoles were replaced with Lannister banners.  That would have been a trip to see.

We walked the walls, went to a couple of museums, had probably the two best meals of the trip, and took a boat tour along the coast (that’s where I took this picture).  I learned that there’s supposed to be some fantastic scuba diving around this area.  Which means, of course, that I have to go back someday.

Croatia had a war twenty years ago, during the break up of former Yugoslavia.  Except for the little town we drove through where all the buildings were covered with bullet holes, Dubrovnik was the place I noticed evidence of it the most.  Because all the roof tiles were very, very shiny and new.  The city was under siege and shelled for a good stretch of 1991-1992.  It’s one of the best repaired/restored medieval cities I’ve ever been to, and I got a bit depressed thinking about why that is.

3 Responses to “King’s Landing…er…Dubrovnik!”

  1. urdith Says:

    I fell in love with Dubrovnik when I was 14 years old and visiting my extended family in the former Yugoslavia. When I heard they were shelling her, I wept. It was as if all the horror brought about by the Balkan war overflowed in this one act.

    I’ve followed her rebuilding and rebirth since then. When I heard she would become King’s Landing I thought, “Well, of course. Again, great casting by the GoT folks.”

  2. Re WIlliams Says:

    ” It’s one of the best repaired/restored medieval cities I’ve ever been to, and I got a bit depressed thinking about why that is. ”

    In Würtzburg, Germany, they reinvented old mirror making techniques to remake the mirror room in the bombed castle. Stuttgart, where I lived was very modern because they only rebuilt the most important landmarks.

    Back in high school I used to have a photo of the cellist of Sarajevo propped on my desk. For some reason that war is more real to me than the many others which have happened since.

  3. carriev Says:

    We’re so insulated from so many conflicts around the world here in the US. It’s shocking how many people around here don’t know there *is* a Croatia or Serbia or Bosnia, or where they are, etc.


Leave a Reply

