your cute for today

March 26, 2012

A few weeks ago I was talking with my brother about Halloween costumes for babies, and he was saying how he didn’t think he’d have time to really make anything for baby Emmy.  So I volunteered.  Totally threw myself on that grenade.  Saw all those adorable Baby Leia pictures that go viral every year, and thought, Well, that doesn’t look too hard.  Here’s what I made:

Then I thought, why stop there?  And made this:

They’re both way too big for her right now, but they should be not quite as big by October.  And they’re adjustable.

I’ve also promised her fairy wings from the Ren Faire.

You know what they say — start ’em young.

3 Responses to “your cute for today”

  1. Re WIlliams Says:

    Sweet! The white dress looks stretchy. Did you use an overlock? Just curious because I’m thinking about buying one. At this point stretch and I don’t get along.


  2. They both look great! The Leia-hair hat is awesome.

  3. carriev Says:

    The white fabric was indeed some shimmery stretchy poly thing, and it was a real bitch to sew. Super simple pattern, but the fabric was recalcitrant. I did not use overlock, ha. Should have. It was a learning experience.


Leave a Reply

