reverse lucid dreaming?

February 17, 2012

Last night, I woke myself up by my dreaming-self’s sheer force of will.  In the dream I was part of a D&D-style fantasy adventure party.  We were trying to defend a particularly indefensible chunk of land from marauders, and everyone was asleep.  Why we didn’t set a watch like any self-respecting D&D-style fantasy adventure party, I don’t know.  All I knew was I had to wake up and warn everyone that an attack was imminent.

That’s right:  I dreamed that I was asleep, and when I tried to wake myself up in the dream, my brain skipped a level and I actually woke up.  Is there such a thing as reverse lucid dreaming, where the dream self has control over the real-world self?

I was not a happy camper, when I looked at the clock — this happened at about 5 am.  On the plus side, I didn’t have to defend that chunk of land from marauders after all.

13 Responses to “reverse lucid dreaming?”

  1. Jakk Says:

    This is weird…i was dreaming that i was asleep and some girl kept yelling the marauders were attacking!🙂

    No, but seriously, try this site: http://www.dreamviews.com/
    It is a excellent starting point for those unaware of dream research and questions like the one you pose. Best wishes.

    Also, the store i work for got in After The Golden Age in paperback, with several book slots dedicated to it. Nice!

  2. Doruk Says:

    I have done it before. Usually when I am just about to get eaten by the monster, I tell myself I will be fine if I just woke up. It feels rather startling, though.

  3. Michael Says:

    Wait till you wake up to answer the phone and your hand passes through the phone. Then you turn around to see yourself still sleeping on the bed🙂
    Flying dreams and precognitive dreams are my favorites kinds of dreams.

  4. Lionus Says:

    The trick is not to scare yourself out of the dream with the acceptance of the dream threat’s reality. When you accepted the imminent attack’s reality then the primitive part of your brain over-rode every other mental process and snapped your brain into full alert (i.e., woke you up).

    So long as you are able to “consciously” accept in the dream that you are dreaming (“Hey I’m dreaming this!”) then a lucid dream can be your own personal theme park where you can do, or meet, or experience anything or anyone you care to.

  5. carriev Says:

    I have lucid dreams all the time. The thing is, I wasn’t scared, I didn’t want to wake up for real. My dream self wanted to wake up *in the dream*, not in reality. But I woke up anyway…

  6. hattorihaze Says:

    I’ve done this consciously before. To a hedge, it’s called “overshooting”. The subconscious mind (and by extension, the spirit world. If you believe in that kind of thing) possesses many layers. The deeper into a dream we go, the more layers we penetrate. As we penetrate more layers, our physical body is influenced more readily. Lucid dreaming tends to be a deep dream that reacts readily with the physical body, hence the lucidity. If you put all of your will in the dream-within-a-dream to wake up and fight the marauders, your physical body responds and tenses/jerks, waking you up.

    Which sucks, because that sounded like a REALLY cool dream. I’d love to have a D&D-style adventure for the night.

    (By the way, this is Woad Hayes. I finally set up a freakin’ wordpress account.)

  7. JeffW Says:

    The really important question here is … which character type were you in your dream? Thief? Ranger? Half-elven magic-user?

  8. LupLun Says:

    If the dream ended as soon as you alerted yourself to do something, maybe that was the point your subconscious mind was making to you. Has there been something on your mind that you’ve been procrastinating lately?

    -LupLun
    Shooting for the Moon

  9. Thomas Says:

    I’ve had those sorts of dreams, but it’s been quite a while since I have had them. Lately I haven’t usually been sleeping deep enough to have the lucid dreams, but when I do I enjoy them. This could be that because I haven’t been working I’ve gone to the night owl schedule that my body/personality like better so I generally am up all night and sleep some portion to all day. This can range from going to bed at 3 or 4 and waking up like 5-7 or going to bed as the sun comes up (7-8ish) and waking up when it’s going down (5-6ish).

    Sometimes I have this weird half asleep/half awake thing, where I’m aware of the world around me and can hear and shift slightly, but I’m more still in the dream or the rememberence of the dream too, so I can’t always work my way up out of it to get up for another couple hours.

    Last thing is I can influence the astral project a bit I think by meditating and letting go of the physical world feelings, worries, and the like, and imagining myself somewhere totally different. For example as if I was flying like a bird/superman w/o the stupid airplane to worry about/deal with.

    I’ll check out that site Jakk, it sounds very useful and informative.

  10. ZOO Says:

    Worst wake up from a vivid dream I’ve ever had was when my dream-self was being sucked into a giant television screen vortex and I was grabbing at everything I could get my hands on to keep from going into the vortex of electronic transmissions, backwards… I woke up the moment I grabbed the opposite side of my mattress and pulled it on top of myself as my backside hit the floor. I guess the only things still on the bed before I woke up were my feet, my head and one arm. LOL


  11. A few weeks ago, I dreamt that the doorbell rang, and I woke up almost screaming, thinking that someone was breaking in and we were all going to die. I’ve no idea what I was dreaming before that point, but it took me hours to calm down.

    I college, I often had dreams about needing to wake up and being completely unable to, no matter how hard I tried. I struggled to open my eyes, nearly panicking, until at last I woke up. Those always freaked me out.

  12. David Bowles Says:

    The most bizarre part is that science still really doesn’t understand what function sleep or dreaming actually fulfills. What is known is that some animals can rest one half of their brain at a time.

  13. Mr P J Prosser Says:

    I had a dream last night of me being in a world opposite to the world now, but I could see the world I should be in, I tried to get back to the world I needed to get to but it wouldn’t let me, could you help me with this and tell me what it means.


Leave a Reply

