may be of interest

January 27, 2012

2012 is off and running.  Things are happening, stories will be appearing, and I have some announcements.  I’m excited.

First off, Steel has been named to the 2012 Amelia Bloomer List for “the best books with significant feminist content that will appeal to young readers.”  It’s very gratifying, to set out to write a girl-oriented adventure story with a grounding in feminism, and then have a respected organization say, “Yes, this is feminist.”  I’m honored.

My 2012 list of publications begins with a short story, “Harry and Marlowe and the Talisman of the Cult of Egil,” which will be online at Lightspeed in February.  But the e-book version of the issue is available now.  This is one of two stories about Harry and Marlowe coming out this year, and the first look at the steampunk world I’ve been working on.  Yes, after talking about steampunk for years, I’m finally publishing some of it.  It was inevitable.  (Although, if I had to get technical, it’s not really steampunk but raygun punk, since the technology isn’t steam-driven, but sort of extraterrestrial-green-glowy-thing driven…  Just read it, you’ll see what I mean…)

2 Responses to “may be of interest”

  1. Egil Says:

    With a title like that I guess I really must read it.

  2. Re WIlliams Says:

    Congratulates with Steel!


Leave a Reply

